Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St James School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Biddeford

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $185,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $810.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Wednesday, July 9, 2014

I would recommend St James School to anyone. I think St James is a five star school. The teachers are great. They know their students and can give them extra help if they need it. It's nice to have small classes also. Mrs. Naimey is a very good principal. The final piece to making St James a five star school is wonderful parent involvement. It's great to have a choice. My son is in 8th grade so I'm posting my review from experience. Call 282-4084 if you would like to schedule a visit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about this program! I have sent both of my children here over the past three years and have had a wonderful experience on both occasions. The staff is extremely welcoming and they are all focused on my children s well-being. Three years ago, my husband was relocated to the area. My oldest child previously hated going to preschool. However, after only two weeks at St. James preschool, my child had an entirely different outlook on school. The program recently expanded so I was able to send my second child to preschool for a full day program. I was also very pleased with this and could not recommend a better place for my children. As a whole, the program is extremely accommodating, and chances are if you ask, they will do whatever they can to help you. Not to mention that the prices are also extremely reasonable given all that the program has to offer!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2013

I went to school here, and it was very nice actually. Though it was a small school, the teachers were very nice and always patient with whomever it was and whatever the need was. They always put the kids first. I moved away when in second grade, and I guess they don't have a lot of people there anymore. Now I'm in public school and I love it more then ever!


Posted October 17, 2012

Everyone at the school was so nice the first 2 times i met them..but when the first week of preschool started for my daughter, i was called 3 times...first one was the day after school asking if my daughter knew how to eat a sandwich, and "if i were mom i woujld pack her mac n cheese for lunch" "maybe you could tell your daughter to eat like a "good girl" at school" Your daugter is fidgety during story time and rest time" " your daughters attention span is 1-5 mins you should get her checked out" I did an they said there was nothing wrong with my daughter. so i switched preschools. went in a few days ago to collect my daughters things and the preschool teachers were not speaking very nicely to 3 and 4 your olds in my opinion. A school you are paying money for should ask "what can i do for your child so she/he gets the best learning experience " not tell you what you should do and how you should do it. my daughter was at this school for 3 weeks and i pulled her a few weeks ago and found a preschool that lets my daughter be who she wants to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2011

A gem of a school! To experience St. James, step inside the school where the halls echo with excellence, creativity, love, respect, smiles, and compassion. St. James has extraordinary teachers, administration, and staff devoted to quality education. Our two children have attended for almost a decade and we are extremely grateful to St. James and the supportive parish. Students attend from various communities and religious affiliations. St. James has offered Preschool, full-day Kindergarten, French, Choir, Band, bi-annual Musical Productions, Extended Care, Harvest Festivals, Easter Eggstravaganza, and more traditions. St. James is not just a school -- St. James is a family and a second home for our children. St. James provides weekly newsletters which include school activities and events, study tips, parenting articles, and recommended reading. In writing this I realize educating my children has been the easy part for St. James; perhaps it is us, the parents, who have the most to learn. .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

St. James in our minds is the complete package, there is such a strong focus on the children, and thats what matters. The teachers go above and beyond what is expected of them, the principal knows the names of each student, and you couldn't begin to count how many hugs are given there on a daily basis. The curriculum is tougher than most but is easily taught based on the smaller amount of students per class. There will always be issues no matter what, but we feel St. James does their best to provide a wonderful teaching staff and a loving enviroment for our children to learn. The school is an extention of our home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2009

The school does fine as long as everything is quiet. When there is an issue, it is blown out of proportion and they do not follow through and do what they say they are going to do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2009

I have two daughters at St. James school and they both love it. I am very impressed with curriculum and am extremely impressed with the dedication of the teachers. My girls are thriving at this school and I know that they will be prepared for any high school. The classes are small and they get the attention that they need. I also love that they get a top-notch quality catholic education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2009

We have been involved with St. James for over 8 years. My oldest daughter graduated from there and I have one graduating this year. The curriculum is tough, but the teachers are great. My oldest daughter is in all honors class at TA. A great school with caring teachers and a fantastic, catholic faith based curriculum. Open door policy with all teachers. Involved parents as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2009

My son has the most patient teachers that are able to differentiate his curriculum. I am happy with the small class size. He loves Lego club and is excited to be in the school play.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2008

My daughter transfered from a public school in 3rd grade and she is doing grate ! Straight A 's ! She had a tought time in math too ! The teachers are great and the enviroment ! YOur kids will love it !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2007

My daughter transfered from a public school in 6th grade and it was the best decision we ever made to send her to St James. We have had a great experience and can't say enough good about the principle who just loves her job. It is well worth the money and I feel an experience that she will always look back fondly on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2007

Excellent leadership, caring, smart, dedicated teachers. School provides a supportive, challenging education that instills values, morals, responsibility, compassion and faith. Most grads end up in the top of their High School class, reflecting how well St. James prepared them. Clearly, a top school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 92%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Black 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 2%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Supports home-based learning
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Portland
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

25 Graham Street
Biddeford, ME 04005
Phone: (207) 282-4084

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT