Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

George Stevens Academy

Private | 9-12 | 66 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Blue Hill

Situated in a rural neighborhood. The median home value is $243,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $735.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 19, 2014

GSA has a lot of flaws. I sent my first child here, and after the first semester took her out because I could see that there was a lot of bullying by the students, as well as the adults. My child wasn't feeling challenged in any of the classes. The high school seems to make money over a good education, all they seem to care about is asking for money. The the new head master seemed to care only about money. I'm sorry, but this school has a lot of things that need to be changed, starting with stepping up the learning program. My other three kids have since have attended other high schools in the area. Do yourself and your child a huge favor and send them to a high school in the surrounding area.


Posted January 22, 2014

I am a former student (graduated last year) and I absolutely loved GSA! It was a fantastic environment and the teachers did a fantastic job. The math department and social studies department were phenomenal! Of course there were things that needed to be improved (funding for women's sports in one) but even in the four years that I was there many things were changing and still are! But if you are not a driven, independent student, this may not be the best place for you. They lack special needs support, but we are in a small area with little funding. Overall my experience was fantastic! And I got great scholarships and I'm going to an excellent college!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 29, 2012

All four of my children have attended this school. All have been top performers athletically and academically and were rewarded with excellent college and scholarship opportunities. While GSA faces financial and physical plant challenges, these are being addressed. The most significant quality I see at GSA is the strong, supportive school/local community and unique setting. We have been very satisfied with our overall experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2012

The only positive things about this school are the social studies programs, and the pan program. Other than that, no thank you. I transferred to the other high school in this town about a month ago.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 16, 2012

I am a parent of student that went to GSA, but transferred three years ago. I would just like to say, that I expected better of this school. I had heard positive things about the school. But my daughter was treated terribly by some of the office administration. . But all in all, this school has some serious issues if you dig deeper in. Not a positive environment at all! As for the academics, I was very impressed by the english and art program. There is much work needed if this school wants to progress. Many people agree with me as well. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2012

I was a student here for a while, and I did enjoy it. But this past winter I was bullied out of the school not only by the students, but by office administration themselves. I do not recommend this school by any means. Though some of the teachers are wonderful, the environment is extremely harsh. I say send your child to Ellsworth, or MDI. Not GSA!


Posted April 12, 2012

My daughter attended GSA for all four years and overall had a first rate education. She applied to 8 colleges and got into 7, including her first choice. Most of her teachers were smart, caring, dedicated people. The schools is small (300+ students) and open to all students in the surrounding community. It also has a small residential program that attracts mostly international students. As a results, GSA has a wonderful "real world" feel to it. The school's facilities are not top-notch, but they are making improvements every year. Bottom line: this school is a gem! If you live in one of the surrounding towns, you pay no tuition: by law, Maine towns without public high schools must pay tuition for their resident students. But even if you live where you must pay tuition, it's a bargain. We could have sent our daughter to a private "prep" school. I'm glad we did not.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2012

I have taught at GSA since 2003. It's an exceptionally good school: student-centered and mission-driven. The students are great. The school "looks like" the surrounding community because all local students can attend at no cost. The administration supports its teachers.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 4, 2012

This school was an immense disappointment to me. The environment as a whole had such negative energy. Thought, I do applaud some of the teachers for such great teaching. But overall, I do not recommend this school. GSA has been going downhill rapidly, and is still continuing. I hope this helped.


Posted March 15, 2006

Academic programs: first rate. A little weak in the math department, but very good hard sciences, English, computer science, and social sciences. In addition to a thriving sports program, the school also very successful music, art, drama, and extracuriculars.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 13, 2004

I am a Junior at George Stevens Academy AKA GSA and the best thing about this school is the faculty esp. the office ladys and men strive to get you into different clubs and extra curriculars so colleges will be more likely to accept you. Also it makes your experience more memorable!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 17, 2004

As a graduate of GSA i found great changes. For one the athletic depatment needs some serious help. There are too many prejudice in this school. For instanse Boys teams such as basketball and baseball are well funded while the womans softball and basketball are less funded. According to the athletic department it is because of fundraising.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 92%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 12% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 2%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

23 Union Street
Blue Hill, ME 04614
Phone: (207) 374-2808

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Liberty School
Blue Hill, ME





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT