Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Brunswick Jr High School

Public | 6-8 | 538 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 21, 2013

This is a great school. I have a great learning experience. Mr. Kosak is a teaching mastermind. Rick Scala and Wendy Arzate are a 1-2 punch. Steer clear of Laura Hench.


Posted March 4, 2013

If you have a special needs student,be prepared for a hassle and a lawsuit. Administrators are in desperate need of ethics classes and professional behavior guidelines.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2013

The School has Excellent teachers, Strong principal/school leadership-with Civil Rights and Anti Bullying Programs. We have Challenging academic programs throughout the year. If you want your kid to have a good school year then send them to Brunswick Junior High. You will be glad you did!


Posted May 16, 2012

This school is a wonderful place for students. The staff is outstanding and the principal, Walter Wallace, is an educational powerhouse. Great job everyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2010

If you want to join the circus send your child to Brunswick Junior High. This school does not hold a positive learning environment. This is caused by lack of respect from/to administration, teachers and students. We were thrilled that our child is final through with that school. Good luck to the kids and parents that don't have a choice, your going to need it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2009

Why are kids so smart and so motivated at Brunswick Junior High School? We don't have a strong budget and fancy facillities. I think it's the social diversity of the area that makes the issues and lesson genuine for the kids. Example: attend a speech and debate team event and you'll hear Brunswick kids reciting works from major writers and thinkers - of their own choosing! Compare that to Cape Elizabeth, where students in 7th grade still choose to recite Dr. Suess and the Three Little Pigs for their speeches. Maybe the lessons taught in some schools is to play it safe and fly below the wire - but at schools like Brunswick Junior High, students dare themselves, they believe they all 'make a difference,' thye have an awareness of their importance to society, they have loyalty, and they respect the peace. Downside: many teachers favor their own friends' children. Cliquish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2009

my child went here for 2 years and she loved it! her grades improved and her selfesteem. she was honor roll for the past 2 years and the teachers are great and always willing to help her out. im sad to have to leave but the military life cant wait! :( this school and everyone who works there will be greatly missed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2007

The only students that seem to do well are those that have a natural talent to learn. Any student who requires time and some additional teaching effort to be taught is overlooked. I am shocked by the lack of communication from the staff considering the progress report I received about my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2007

The Bunswick Jr High falculty, Administative staff, and the superintendant is unconcerned with the education of the students. the budget has been cut leving the students to suffer while the teachers blame the federal government's No Child Left Behind Act. The falculty should step up to the plate or step off! There is no excuse. PISSED PARENT
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2006

I found Brunswick Junior High to be either very unaware of social issues within the school or powerless make positive change. I have had 2 children attend, 1 an honors student in high school and college, 1 a special needs child; neither had a positve experience resulting in us sending them elsewhere. The teachers seem to try had but appear overwhelmed, the administration seems powerless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2006

I found the school administration to be very distant and uncaring about my son. He had difficulties fitting in when we moved in the middle of the school year. He sought help from the counselors and administrators and was not given any consideration at all. We ended up pulling him out to homeschool since he was unable to get any help at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2005

My daughter has spent 3 years here. She has been an honor student for those years. Great teachers. Great students. My son has spent 1 year here. He has also been an honor student. Hate to leave the brunswick area. Navy family so we have no choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2004

Both of my daughters have gone to this school for all three years (6-8). My older daughter is in 4 honors classes at the high school thanks to the great education she received here. I can't say enough about how pleased I am to have this junior high in our school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 70% in 2013.

172 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the Maine Educational Assessment (MEA) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MEA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 92%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
Black 3% 3%
Hispanic 1% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 6%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

65 Columbia Ave
Brunswick, ME 04011
Phone: (207) 319-1930

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Compass Point Academy
Brunswick, ME





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT