Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Brunswick, ME
Students enrolled: 538
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Brunswick Jr High School 4

Posted December 21, 2013
- a community member
This is a great school. I have a great learning experience. Mr. Kosak is a teaching mastermind. Rick Scala and Wendy Arzate are a 1-2 punch. Steer clear of Laura Hench.

Brunswick Jr High School 1

Posted March 04, 2013
- a parent
If you have a special needs student,be prepared for a hassle and a lawsuit. Administrators are in desperate need of ethics classes and professional behavior guidelines.


Brunswick Jr High School 5

Posted January 09, 2013
- a community member
The School has Excellent teachers, Strong principal/school leadership-with Civil Rights and Anti Bullying Programs. We have Challenging academic programs throughout the year. If you want your kid to have a good school year then send them to Brunswick Junior High. You will be glad you did!

Brunswick Jr High School 5

Posted May 16, 2012
- a parent
This school is a wonderful place for students. The staff is outstanding and the principal, Walter Wallace, is an educational powerhouse. Great job everyone!

Brunswick Jr High School
no rating

Posted March 09, 2010
- a parent
If you want to join the circus send your child to Brunswick Junior High. This school does not hold a positive learning environment. This is caused by lack of respect from/to administration, teachers and students. We were thrilled that our child is final through with that school. Good luck to the kids and parents that don't have a choice, your going to need it!


Brunswick Jr High School 5

Posted July 31, 2009
- a parent
Why are kids so smart and so motivated at Brunswick Junior High School? We don't have a strong budget and fancy facillities. I think it's the social diversity of the area that makes the issues and lesson genuine for the kids. Example: attend a speech and debate team event and you'll hear Brunswick kids reciting works from major writers and thinkers - of their own choosing! Compare that to Cape Elizabeth, where students in 7th grade still choose to recite Dr. Suess and the Three Little Pigs for their speeches. Maybe the lessons taught in some schools is to play it safe and fly below the wire - but at schools like Brunswick Junior High, students dare themselves, they believe they all 'make a difference,' thye have an awareness of their importance to society, they have loyalty, and they respect the peace. Downside: many teachers favor their own friends' children. Cliquish.

Brunswick Jr High School 5

Posted March 23, 2009
- a parent
my child went here for 2 years and she loved it! her grades improved and her selfesteem. she was honor roll for the past 2 years and the teachers are great and always willing to help her out. im sad to have to leave but the military life cant wait! :( this school and everyone who works there will be greatly missed!

Brunswick Jr High School 1

Posted October 11, 2007
- a parent
The only students that seem to do well are those that have a natural talent to learn. Any student who requires time and some additional teaching effort to be taught is overlooked. I am shocked by the lack of communication from the staff considering the progress report I received about my child.


Brunswick Jr High School 1

Posted September 07, 2007
- a parent
The Bunswick Jr High falculty, Administative staff, and the superintendant is unconcerned with the education of the students. the budget has been cut leving the students to suffer while the teachers blame the federal government's No Child Left Behind Act. The falculty should step up to the plate or step off! There is no excuse. PISSED PARENT

Brunswick Jr High School 2

Posted July 14, 2006
- a parent
I found Brunswick Junior High to be either very unaware of social issues within the school or powerless make positive change. I have had 2 children attend, 1 an honors student in high school and college, 1 a special needs child; neither had a positve experience resulting in us sending them elsewhere. The teachers seem to try had but appear overwhelmed, the administration seems powerless.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Brunswick Jr High School
65 Columbia Ave, Brunswick, ME  04011
(207) 319-1930
Last modified Brunswick Jr High School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Brunswick Jr High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top