Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Brunswick High School

Public | 9-12 | 891 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 26, 2013

The curriculum may be good, and the teachers may be fine, but the administration is completely clueless. We have never seen so much confusion and contradiction before. There is very little cooperation between departments, and the communication to parents is often confusing and contradictory. Call one department to get a question answered (because the mailings and emails often publish the wrong information and dates) and they defer to another department, who refers you back to the first department. It's complete chaos.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2011

Had A great four years. very proud to have gone to it and will miss it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 26, 2011

Definitely a strong academic and athletic school that caters to EVERYONE, not just the top 10%. I took difficult courses, but I wasn't in the top 10%, and I still got a great education at BHS. I enjoyed the fantastic (relatively new) facilities, and had some extremely capable and committed teachers during my time there. BHS is definitely one of the best schools in Maine, and I'm glad that teachers take the time to notice and try to help everyone, regardless of class rank. You have to really try to fail in order to actually do so; I didn't work as hard as I could have, but teachers prompted me to help myself as they helped me. Any student who can be called at least " barely mediocre" can succeed and go on to a solid college from Brunswick High School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 7, 2010

This school caters exclusively to the top 10% of each class. Everyone is invisible. Read the latest NEASC accreditation report for confirmation of this. My child had a very poor experience at Brunswick High School
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2010

Horrible school unless the student is incredibly self motivated, emotionally strong. Old fashioned, out dated teaching methods and burned out, lazy faculty. My daughter had a horrible four years there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Great courses and outstanding teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2009

As a parent, and as a prior student, I can attest to BHS being of the highest caliber and most accredited schools you can find in Maine
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2009

I can't imagine a better high school. Wonderful faculty and staff. the best principle. Wonderful, varied students. Great special education department. Lovely library annd on and on.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 6, 2008

Brunswick High School rocks! You learn so much there! There are so many people and I have so many friends there!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 9, 2008

Amazing school. To me, the best in the state. Amazing teachers!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 10, 2007

I went to this school then I moved to FL. This was the best school that I have ever been to. They are very hands on and I had a fun time learning.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 5, 2007

Excellant teachers, very wide variaty of extra-curricular activities, great sports programs, and an overall excellant school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 12, 2007

Great kids, Great teacher's Current student, Will be proud to graduate here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 27, 2007

Good selection of honors and advanced placement programs. Some excellent teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2005

Brunswick high has a very nice special ed department and they are always on top of things. They have Footbal, Basketball, Hockey, baseball, indoor and outdoor track, lacroose, soccor and cross-country.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Critical Reading

The state average for Critical Reading was 49% in 2013.

209 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

208 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2013.

209 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 43% in 2013.

208 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the Maine High School Assessment (MHSA) to test students in grade 11 in critical reading, math, writing and science. The results reported show how well students are mastering state standards, specific skills defined by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 92%
Black 3% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Hispanic 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 5%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

116 Maquoit Rd
Brunswick, ME 04011
Phone: (207) 319-1910

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Compass Point Academy
Brunswick, ME






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT