Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Aucocisco School

Private | 3-12 | 5 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Cape Elizabeth

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $303,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $940.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 11 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 30, 2014

Outstandingly open to different ways of learning, supportive and respecting with emotions and choices of lifestyle. Never have we found such a understanding group for a child with learning differences. This school was a godsend and we are blissfully thankfully for the opportunity to attend, grow, thrive and gain confidence each and every positive day with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

Aucocisco School tailors instruction to the needs of students and does so in a nurturing fashion that allows intellectual, social, and emotional growth. Working at Aucocisco is a treat, because of the strong relationships developed between students and teachers, and because of the incredible growth we, as teachers, get to witness in our students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 29, 2014

Two of our children were just not able to meet expectations in the public schools. At Aucocisco, the teachers and coaches provide intensive reading, writing and math instruction, geared to each student. The classes are small so each student receives individualized instruciton and these students, all of whom have unique learning needs, are not subject to many of the overwhelming experiences found in larger settings. As my daughter says, "It's okay to be different at Aucocisco because everyone is different!" Aucocisco lives its motto: "Strategies, Skills, Success" every day. We would be lost within this wonderful group of caring adults who every day guide and teach our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

Two of our children were miserable in the public schools. After finding Aucocisco (resting place), both of them have come out of their shells and found confidence and success. The teachers and coaches here take the time to get to know each student (small classes make that possible). As a former public school teacher, I never thought I'd need an alternative; thank goodness Aucocisco is available! We are so lucky to live in close enough proximity to rely on this unique institution. It has truly provided our children with their best hope for succeeding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

I have worked at Aucocisco School for one year now and since day 1, I have been impressed with everything this school offers to both students and their families. Aucocisco provides outstanding education to students grades 3-12 who may not be able to learn well in the traditional school setting. Every staff member is dedicated to providing a safe and nurturing environment for each student, which enables them to learn and grow in a school setting. I have seen such amazing growth in so many in the past year. Aucocisco is truly a rewarding place to work!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 29, 2014

Aucocisco School and Learning Center. My son goes to Aucocisco for 2 high school classes and tutoring support in combination with the regular high school for other subjects. His case is not necessarily the traditional scenario at the school, though it is significant to how each student is given a custom solution there. What I would like to say about the school is that it strives for an ideal of education -- prepare for it, get it and use it , click! -- See how the effort paid off -- for anyone who could use a creative approach to learning. The students span a wide range. I feel like my son has been treated with precision targeting to address his specific challenges and most important he is succeeding. They are very effective, caring and sharp at assessing the needs. I feel very lucky to have their help with my bright, challenging, creative brained children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

Our son was struggling with reading and writing in public elementary school. After participating in the summer learning program at Aucocisco School, his dsylexia was identified. We applied to Aucocisco so his real needs could now be addressed. The reading specialists utilizing the Lindamood-Bell program as well as the wonderfully supportive teachers, nurturing learning environment and small classes allowed him to make great strides, acquire tools and strategies, and enjoy school again. Aucocisco was a great fit at the right time for our child and our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

My son's school is Aucocisco, which means resting place in a Native American language. Kids often come here who have been marginalized by other schools. Their hearts and souls are often heavy with despair. Our son was so demoralized by the public school system that he didn't feel like living. The teachers here help them regain their confidence in learning, that they are valued individuals. Our son now says that he wishes he had gone to school here since kindergarten, instead of just 11th grade. He feels like he belongs to a community. He is full of life and eagerness to learn. If we had the money, he would like to be there fulltime. He loves learning and values school again. He and others blossom in this resting place. It is incredible to witness. I work with so many teens who would do well at this school. However, public schools aren't willing to pay to send the kids there, nor are public schools willing to try to emulate this model. So, many children suffer unnecessarily. Thank you for saving my son's soul. So that he feels valued again in this world. a parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

My school is a wonderful mix of an accepting environment with academically rigorous curriculum. Our staff is trained to create curriculum that stretches our students' intellect while stressing the use of strategies that allow ALL students to excel. We believe that all students can be sucessful if they have a tool box of strategies to use when working with rigorous curriculum.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 19, 2014

My child thinks this school is "great", that's extraordinarily high praise coming from a child who, a few years back while in his old public school, dreaded going to school, suffered extremely low self-esteem and felt lost. Aucocisco is unique, and is phenomenal at what they do - teach children the way they learn. It is not a cookie-cutter approach. Instead, the instruction is tailored to each student's learning style to ensure the student will learn, will understand the material, which builds tremendous self-confidence. There are not adequate words to describe how grateful we are to the teachers and the director of the school for their incredible dedication, patience and creativity. In addition, they truly partner with us, the parents, to achieve the best results possible. The staff is open, accessible, and always takes a positive approach if a student encounters a difficulty that requires a creative solution. Their support extends far beyond the classroom, and they have allowed us, and our child, to focus on & celebrate his strengths & abilities, rather than on his difficulties. Aucocisco is a salvation for any child who is struggling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2014

This school has provided excellent academic and emotional support to students as well as their families!


Posted August 7, 2013

Aucocisco is a "resting place", a place where students and their families can feel safe. The school provides a safe learning environment where individual differences are celebrated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

Aucocisco is not just a school but it a family, parents, students and staff work together to make the learning experience as positive and successful as possible. The teachers all care about the children as individuals and help them find their strengths.


Posted August 2, 2013

Aucocisco builds students skills, helps them develop strategies, which allows them to not only feel successful, but BE successful! Academically and/or socially!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 2, 2013

I think this school is a great place for kids with learning disabilites to grow and feel like they can be themselves, without being judged. When I first came to the school I was super nervous, but I came across some really nice friends and teachers. The only thing in my opinion, that needs to change, would be the learning aquiptment. The computers we have now are fine, but they are kinda old. Aucocisco school has really taught me alot, socially and academically. I really don't know where I would be without their guidence. They've taught me the confidence that I need to suceed in the real world, also I can go out in the community, still nervous and timid, but atleast I can go out there. I never used to be able to.


Posted October 6, 2010

this school is a very good school I went to school there for 2 years there and I loved it there now I go to a public High School now. They want you to go back to a public school the teachers are very nice it is a very good school


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 92%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Black 0% 3%
Hispanic 0% 2%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • CEC
  • NAPSEC

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special ed
  • Special education
  • Special eduction
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

126 Spurwink Avenue
Cape Elizabeth, ME 04107
Phone: (207) 773-7323

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Holy Cross School
South Portland, ME



Spurwink School--S Portland
South Portland, ME


Dyer Elementary School
South Portland, ME



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT