Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Cape Elizabeth, ME
Students enrolled: 548

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cape Elizabeth High School 5

Posted October 31, 2010
- a parent
As a graduate of CEHS, with two children who also graduated and one who is about to graduate I would like to say how impressed I am with this school. Teachers, parents and students all "get it" and student leave CEHS ready to take on the world! It certainly doesn't hurt that the town is one of the wealthiest in Maine, but my observation is that the students are hard working and driven, while being aware of how fortunate they are. "To whome much is given, much is expected". These kids live up to this quote and more!

Cape Elizabeth High School 1

Posted April 01, 2009
- a community member
There are most definitely many terrific students here who work hard and have good character, and also don't take the school or their lives for granted. However, it is unfortunate that the majority of kids here take everything for granted and have absolutely NO respect for anything. It is these overly privileged kids, and most likely their parents, that could make even the most snobbish person cringe. Although the academics, for the most part, are decent, the school does little to mold these brats into promising members of society, but instead makes them 'winners' and not 'losers'. 'Who cares if they are indecent people, at least they have good resumes', seriously? Although you can't blame the school entirely, due to the fact that the parents are no better, CEHS could do better. The overall disdainfulness is so strong that people with less opportunity, and less money, are ridiculed.


Cape Elizabeth High School 5

Posted January 18, 2009
- a parent
The eldest of our four children is a sophmore at Cape Elizabeth High School. It is a school that has many of the benefits of a private school combined with the numerous opportunities that a public high school provides. The academics are very strong. Parent involvement is incredible. Fabulous Music program that includes 25% of the high schoolers. Sports teams are very strong in most every sport. We are very impressed with the Cape Elizabeth public school system.

Cape Elizabeth High School 2

Posted April 09, 2008
- a parent
People in Cape like to maintain the facade of having a wonderful school system. In reality, the academic success of the town's students is more likely related to the high achievement, academic orientation of the families which populate the town. The faculty, principal and athletic director are average or below. The so-called Honors and AP programs are just courses with more homework. There is no one taking the time to organize an overview of who your child is and what sort of total experience they are having. The students seem to lack a sense of ownership and are short on school pride and support for each other...what we used to call 'school spirit'.

Cape Elizabeth High School 4

Posted October 29, 2007
- a student
It is a very good school but I feel as a former student that the teachers and administration focused more on the 'exceptional' students that are going to go to the ivy leagues. It would always look better on paper if they had kids go to Ivy leagues and thats what people want to read. I did play a sport every season and the sport teams is what made the school enjoyable for me. The school did prepare me for college though and I guess thats all that really matters.


Cape Elizabeth High School 5

Posted May 29, 2007
- a former student
Cape Elizabeth High School provided me with a high school experience that could not have been outdone. The sports teams are exceptionally competitive, thefaculty is excellent, the facility is above average and the town itself is absolutely beautiful. The school offers an exceptional range of courses for a school its size, just under 600 students. I will graduate having taken 50 semesters of classes ranging from wood working and ceramics to AP Physics AB, AP Calculus and Computer Science. The teachers have always been willing to help and the administration makes an effort to know every students name and their extracurricular activities.

Cape Elizabeth High School 5

Posted May 11, 2005
- a former student
I am a graduate of Cape Elizabeth High School now doing very well for myself after completing an undergraduate degree. I felt that my experience at CEHS prepared me to meet the most rigorous of college curricula, and regard the school as among the state's very best.

Cape Elizabeth High School 5

Posted January 31, 2005
- a parent
The school's priority is the children and their education. I've never seen such a school and community that embrace its school system the way Cape Elizabeth does.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cape Elizabeth High School
345 Ocean House Rd, Cape Elizabeth, ME  04107
(207) 799-3309
Last modified Cape Elizabeth High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cape Elizabeth High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top