Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Caribou High School

Public | 9-12

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 18, 2011

The only positive thing I can say about Caribou High is that most of the teachers are decent. The amount bullying and harassment at this school is insane. I have been bullied and harassed since I came to the Caribou School System in Middle school. In the halls there are derogatory racial, gender, religious, and sexual orientation comments made by the students on a daily basis. Recently we had a powerful assembly put on by The Center for Preventing Hate in Maine; even though the kids seemed moved by the assembly, after a couple of days, the comments and jokes started again. CHS is a horrible environment for students who want to learn and that are different racially, religiously or just different from the rest of the "group" of students. Even a few of the teachers have been know to make bigoted comments. This school also has lots of cliques. The administration at CHS is not equipped to handle these issues, and they do not know how to prevent it from continuing. I am scarred at times to go to school because of how much i am being harassed and bullied. This entire school district has issues, and don't let anyone tell you otherwise.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2010

I think this is a great school. I think if all students treated others the way they would want to be treated it would make it a much more enjoyable environment. Nobody likes to be a victim of bullying, as I see it, we are all human beings no matter where we live, what we wear or how we dress or look like. We all have feelings...
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2008

I'm a student at Caribou High. It's fun at times and it's bad at times. The teachers are nice, but the bully's and the lies can go away and stay away. Yeah right like that will ever happen because the school won't do anything about it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 8, 2008

I am a student at caribou high and i think that it is a pretty awesome school the teachers can be mean but thats just because there looking out for all of us and they want whats best for us. The classes here are great and i dont have to worry about someone breaking in to our school. i think that if you wanted to change schools that you should come here. the bully here is bad but the teachers try to stop it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 26, 2007

I am a student at Caribou High School. I think that my school is the best place to be. I have the best teachers and the best classes. I have something that a lot of other kids don't get to experience when they go to school, safety. I feel safe at my school. There are many trained professionals at the school to are equiped to handle anything. The food isn't to bad and the school is pretty clean. I actually hate not being in school and I don't stay home unless it is a health risk to others. I know that when I leave my school, I can do anything. Caribou High School is where you want to be. Trust me!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 11, 2006

Whoever said this school is dead needs to walk around the school and actually take a real look at the teachers and some of the students. I go to Caribou High. It's an awesome school. I love the teachers there. We have a drug problem, but so does everyone school. The town is really starting to take action against this. I would have no problem talking personally to 4 of my 7 teachers, and at least 5 others that I don't have as teachers. The sports are awesome, I participate in four. There are plenty of clubs to join. There are many factors that make Caribou High School an awesome place, the leading factor is probably the people.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 30, 2005

This school is dead, terrible. I cannot believe the bullying that goes on espically in the grades 10, 11 and 12. You would think that kids that are older would be more mature, I guess not. Caribou High School is not the place to be to learn.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 11, 2004

I think that this school is one of the best schools in Maine. It is so much better than Presque Isle. The teachers are much better and more understanding. My kids love their teachers and they know everyone. There is not alot of bulliying and mostly every one gets along very well. And with the dress code that is very considerable, OUR kids are not walking around in nothing! And note the fact that the sophmores last year got amazingly high scores on their testing! And that is why we all think that our school is better than Presque Isle High School and why it is one of the best high schools in Maine.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Critical Reading

The state average for Critical Reading was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
44%
Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
45%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 43% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the Maine High School Assessment (MHSA) to test students in grade 11 in critical reading, math, writing and science. The results reported show how well students are mastering state standards, specific skills defined by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

308 Sweden St
Caribou, ME 04736
Phone: (207) 493-4260

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT