Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Hilltop Elementary School

Public | K-2

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2013

My son has P.T.S.D. and I explained this to Mrs. Hanes at the Open House at the beginning of the year. He was grabbed and man handled by 3 teachers and locked in room, because he slapped (Mrs.Hanes) his teacher in the face for grabbing his hand (tightly) ,It scared him, he didn't know her. When i came to get him,they tried to explain it away.So we contacted Advocasy for the disabled and they made them restaff my son and then they put him in room #1. This enraged me.My son witness his parents being assulted =P.T.S.D.When I went to the school I was loud and mad,To be honest was holding back ALOT! My son rapped himself around me and i took him home.I've never been so temped to knock out the dentures of an old woman.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2012

I have never encountered a school so clique-oriented. The favoritism is blatant and rampant. I volunteered weekly so I saw 1st hand how the preschool teacher treated certain parents and children better than others merely by the popularity and wealth of certain families. It was downright disgusting. When I called the superintendent at the end of the school year, I found that there is no recourse to this issue. Thank the lord that I quickly took my children and moved far, far away. I pity the poor children of Caribou and the the teacher should be ashamed of herself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2010

Challenging academic programs need new techniques in disipline need new system rules dont demeen children of their snack breaks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2008

I think that the administration and staff at Hilltop Elementary School are very friendly, professional and work to give each student a good education! Many events are planned throughout the year to get students excited about learning. It's a great place to learn and make lasting friendships!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2007

This school lacks friendliness, respect and leadership!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2007

I have had 2 children that have attended Hilltop School in the past. This is the first year that I have no children attending Hilltop and I miss this school very much. The staff was extremely supportive of my children and of myself. I like to volunteer at school and I was always made to feel welcome there. All of the teachers that I have come in contact with at the school were wonderful. I only wish that I had more children so that I could visit the school again!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2007

My child attended this school for two years and I must say I was glad when he moved on to Teague Park school. One doesn't feel welcome at Hilltop. The teachers aren't very 'Parent friendly' as far as classroom involvement goes. Hilltop needs a change in leadership!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2007

There is parent involvement at this school if parents choose. Teachers have been less than welcoming to some parents. Many teachers lack understanding of children who deviate from the norm in regard to learning and development. There are only a small handful of teachers who I would want my child to have at this school. Many teachers are not friendly and and are negative toward the children and toward parents. Support staff on play ground are not friendly to the children. Both teachers and support staff have been sarcastic with a demeaning tone toward the children/parents. My children did not enjoy going to school here and were relieved when they transferred to Teague Park. The school lacks leadership as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2007

This school is not suited to children with disabilities.One good thing about this school is the French program. They start in 1st grade and the teacher at Hilltop handles the children well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2006

My youngest child is currently enrolled in Hilltop School. I am sorry to say it was a relief that she was entering her last year at this school. I have two other childre that have attended this school and it has gotten proggresively worse over the years. The school has a very closed off feeling for parents. I strongly urge any parent thinking about putting their child into this school to thing again. We have pulled our child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

19 Marshall Ave
Caribou, ME 04736
Phone: (207) 493-4250

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Teague Park School
Caribou, ME


Teague Park School
Caribou, ME





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT