Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

11-12|Private
13 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
4 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Deck House School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 09, 2015
- a parent
The teachers he had for art and life coaching especially were very helpful in connecting with our son where he was, with his various gifts and challenges, and bringing out the best in him!

The Deck House School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted September 09, 2015
- a parent
Because Chris did a post-grad year, he did not have homework, so I don't know how to evaluate this.


The Deck House School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted September 09, 2015
- a parent
Definitely! Our son had trouble persevering at first, but through their care (and prodding) he developed greater resiliency.

The Deck House School 5

Posted September 09, 2015
- a parent
This school is a bit different. It is better described as a family. Our son spent 12 weeks in wilderness. We began to understand that he needed intensive care and love. The follow up program that we had decided for him would not accept him straight out of wilderness because he was too fragile. Our educational consultant suggested the Deck House. It did not quite seem right because our son had graduated high school. However, the close nit environment seemed right. So, he entered the school with low self-esteem. He felt alone. However, the school and staff were supportive of him and us. With time, he grew to love the people and the school. The school supported his interest in art. One faculty member is an artist, and they arranged for an MFA to visit weekly. He was producing art on a regular basis. His classmates grew to like and love him. The school's strength is its size and caring faculty. The school is flexible in meeting your son's individual needs. Does your son want to learn Chinese, to learn to weld, to learn to sail, to learn to ski, to take AP courses, or learn to cook? This place can meet your son's unique needs. Our son entered with low-self esteem and left a leader.

The Deck House School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted September 09, 2015
- a parent
It is a small community of students, faculty and staff that looks out for one another. There is a culture of mentoring and support there among all the participants plus in the local community. Doing regular service helps this alot!


The Deck House School 5

Posted September 09, 2015
- a parent
Our son came to the Deck House School right out of a therapeutic wilderness program. They were so accommodating to his needs and ours.. He did a post grad year and through the school he built self-confidence and life skills. The faculty and staff were very easy to work with and Chris was well cared for and grew significantly from the experience. We liked the connection into the community with service.

The Deck House School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted September 09, 2015
- a parent
The school is tailored to each student. No student is lost in the crowd. I think the largest class was four. There were lots of individual classes.

The Deck House School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted September 09, 2015
- a parent
This is the strength of the school. For our fragile son, we needed a supportive container. He needed and got the support he needed.


The Deck House School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 09, 2015
- a community member
It teaches you that you not only need to be honest with the teachers but since you're living in such close community that you be honest with the other students as well

The Deck House School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 09, 2015
- a community member
I can't begin on how amazing teachers are here if you want a certain type of teacher that's not normally make no mistake that we will find one, whether its teaching or spanish, or art

Nearby schools

The Deck House School
124 Deckhouse Road, Edgecomb, ME  04556
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (207) 882-7055
Last modified The Deck House School is a Private school that serves grades 11-12
Top