Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Tidewater School

Private | PK-4 | 58 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Eliot

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $267,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $900.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 31, 2012

I have three kiddos attending Tidewater - ages 3, 5 & 7. Our experience has been so fantastic. The incredible toddler / pre-school and Kindergarten classes, small 'grades' class sizes, excellent teachers, and community of involved, like-minded parents mean our kids are getting lots of nurturing and are developing a real love of learning. Can't recommend Tidewater enough!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2008

Tidewater is great little school which has it's priorities absolutely straight. It tries very hard, and succeeds, to create a very welcoming, intellectual and artistic environment for the children. It does so successfully with little financial means and a lot of participation by the parents. It is a pity that the school does not have sufficient enrollment in the higher grades to offer classes all the way to grade 6. As the school grows, this will improve. Tidewater school offers all the best aspects of Waldorf education in an excellent little school with very dedicated teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2008

Tidewater is a great school with so much to offer its students. The small class sizes allow the teachers to truly know each child in a deep and meaningful way. The Waldorf curriculum provides the academic material in a caring and nurturing environment. There have been fabulous improvements in the governance and administration of the school. The board and faculty have made very responsible decisions that will benefit the school in the long run. The parent body is open and friendly and supportive. Tidewater is a great school for the whole family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2006

You will not find a more gentle and nurturing environment than at Tidewater. My daughter has been at the school for three years and has only received love and support from her teachers. She has learned real skills like how to make bread, soup, candles, garden, and most importantly, how to be a contributing and loving member of a community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2005

My children have been at Tidewater for five years and can not think of any other place where I would rather have my children. This is a pioneer school still in its infancy. The faculty is overly committed going the extra mile every day. A new administrator was hired last year and has done an outstanding job. My suggestion is if you want a quality Waldorf education, check it out. Go to one of the Waldorf Welcomes that they run, you won t be sorry. See the classrooms and the children and make up your own mind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2005

Our 3 children, ranging from early childhood to grade 5, have flourished at Tidewater School. Our family has appreciated the rich, hands on curriculum and the talented faculty that have drawn our children into the excitement of learning. In addition to valuable Reading, Writing, Mathematics, and Science lessons, they have been introduced to Geography, Local History, Ancient History, Norse Mythology, Fairy Tales and Fables. Their educational experiences have been enriched by their participation in all-school events, music, art, drama, handwork, boat building and outdoor games including ice skating and cross country skiing. Tidewater is a growing community where parents can play an integral role in the quality of their children's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2005

Tidewater needs an administrator and board who listen more and ask less. My son has been in the school for four years, and will not be attending for a fifth. The school's poor administration has created money issues which prevent it from fulfilling it's promises. This school has cut three grade teachers and the entire sixth grade in the past year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 94%
Asian 6% N/A
Black 6% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Waldorf
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Po Box 420
Eliot, ME 03903
Phone: (207) 439-7911

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Shapleigh School
Kittery, ME



Berwick Academy
South Berwick, ME


Central School
South Berwick, ME


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT