Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Etna-Dixmont School 5

Posted April 18, 2013
- a community member
Contrary to what a previous rating has stated, this school values all children and works hard to accommodate learning styles and differentiates when appropriate and needed. It has the highest scores in its district on state tests with most being above state averages. Teachers are available for extra help before and after school and the principal often stays after to work with students as well. Offers have been made to provide rolling backpacks to students and folders, notebooks and school supplies are provided to students in need. The staff works hard to have positive discipline under PBIS guidelines. With the help of the PTF, not only do they reward students for academics and good behavior but they also recognize positive behavior through Eagle Pride stickers, recognition and assemblies. This school should be applauded for their focus on the students, their academics and promoting positive behaviors and attitudes.

Etna-Dixmont School 1

Posted January 26, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Etna-Dixmont School 5

Posted November 29, 2007
- a parent
This small school has a lot to offer. We moved here two years ago and have been very pleased with the school. If we have an issue, it is addressed. Our kids are receiving a very good education

Etna-Dixmont School 5

Posted June 19, 2007
- a parent
My children love the Etna Dixmont school. They are constantly investigating and solving problems that challenge them to think deeply. Instruction is individualized and the teachers communicate well with parents. We receive weekly newsletters from both the principal and teacher. The PTF is extremely active, sponsoring many activities for children. We are lucky to have such a wonderful school in our small community.

Etna-Dixmont School 2

Posted June 07, 2007
- a parent
This is a school which is desperately lacking in parent-teacher connection. From where I sit, most teachers do not show interest and/or have any time to be bothered with staying in touch with parents who have children that do not learn the way their 'typical' students learn. The guidance program what guidance program? There is no art program for those learners who thrive on being creative. There is little focus on preparing students for real life other than health class. Too focused on teaching to the curriculum, not to the child! This school, like so many others needs to be more open-minded and creative, not rigid, narrow-minded, and punitive. Kids need to be shown respect and inspired to work through example.
1 person found this helpful


Etna-Dixmont School 1

Posted April 10, 2007
- a parent
This school is to focused on discipline and not enough on education. School should be fun, if the child is not having fun while learning and in a atmosphere were he/she can enjoy them selves then how will you peek there interest enough to learn anything? They are so busy trying not to get in trouble for little insignificant things that they don't have time for learning.
1 person found this helpful

Etna-Dixmont School 2

Posted May 04, 2005
- a parent
The school has definitely gone through changes over the past 15 years. I have seen 5 pricipals thus far and I think it has alot to with staff and student morale. When a priicipal comes in and drains the life from a school it's hard to keep rejuvenating with each reign. The school needs more parents to get involved I see the same dozen or so parents at most events supporting the school. As new parents come in they should be informed of ways that they can help. The upper level needs more guidance in the area of student counsel and class officer position. Academically the spelling program is ugh and while all the focus is on 'No Child Left Behind' other students sit and mildew the day away. All students deserve to be challenged and to have their minds constantly thinking. I try to keep hope that things will improve.
1 person found this helpful

Etna-Dixmont School 4

Posted February 26, 2005
- a former student
This review submitted without content.


Etna-Dixmont School 1

Posted August 26, 2004
- a parent
Poor school. Has gone down hill over the last 10 years. There are a few wonderful teachers. There are other teachers that do not interact with children very well. Principal brushes issues asside and does not take care of things. Principal does not return phone calls to concerned parents. School has a strict sports academic policy which is stricter than surrounding districts. This leaves a disadvantage to students when they move up to the highschool level. Discipline procedure are unfare and biased and differ from teacher to teacher. Minor issues, such as supporting your head with your hand and elbow may result in a checkmark leading up to a detention.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Etna-Dixmont School
2100 Dixmont Rd, Etna, ME  04434
(207) 234-2491
Last modified Etna-Dixmont School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8
Etna-Dixmont School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top