Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Falmouth High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 25, 2013

I attended Falmouth High School many years ago for all 4 years. I still look back at it as the best time of my life. I was a new student and immediately accepted. There were no cliques, but some harmless grouping of students. Falmouth is one of the wealthiest towns in Maine, but also has large rural, more middle class component - and blends well. Academics were as high as you will find in any school anywhere, but tailored to every level. I currently live in Fairfax, VA, who has almost 25% of all the top high schools in the Nation and I'd rather my kids went to Falmouth - a much smaller, friendlier, progressive, out-of-box thinking school that really should be the model for what a school should be. Athletics super top notch too - div III championships abound. I made the Top 10% in my class at Falmouth (barely) and still attended an Ivy League college. They prepare you for SAT test well. Other students in my class went to Harvard, MIT, etc. Unless something has drastically changed, you just cannot beat this school. If you think Falmouth home prices are high, come to Fairfax, VA, and see what it costs to get into a top school system!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 23, 2013

My children do not go this school yet, but I did tour it recently. I was so impressed with both the school staff and the curricular programming. The new STEM and Arts programs seem particularly exciting. The principals of both the middle and high school seem to be fully engaged with the schools, and I loved the general energy of the place.


Posted June 29, 2010

+ Strong focus on fundamental teaching as opposed to teaching-to-a-test. Top quality teachers who generally have 10-20+ years experience. Still relatively small class sizes, despite growth over the past 10 years. + Challenging course work for all levels of students + Opportunities to take "real world" classes - home economics, shop, typing, engineering, etc. + Very good arts program - pottery, drawing, theater, etc. + Teachers take a genuine interest in helping students learn, as well as helping kids in life. + Strong athletics program, top quality facilities, good junior varsity program for less gifted athletes. + Good relationships/reputation with the nation's top colleges. - Relatively homogeneous student/faculty bodies - Town growth has increased class sizes over the past 10 years


Posted October 2, 2009

Best school system In Maine. The post below has no idea. You are going to get cliques and not so well mannered kids everywhere but honestly this is one of the best schools ever. I attended college right out of High school and was so far ahead it was scary. The sports programs are number one and have been for many years. Each year Falmouth has several students going to Yale, Harvard, Brown etc. As I have stated this is one of the best schools in Maine!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 5, 2009

The teachers are tired and teach the same curriculum over and over. Studies look sad and have no manners-cliques
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

The Falmouth school system is as good or better than most private school educational programs. I believe that this is due to the incredible teaching staff there as Falmouth is a destination, not a stepping stone, for many of its faculty.


Posted July 30, 2007

The Falmouth school system is great! I've had 3 of my children enrolled since 1999 and 2 more on their way. Everyone's involved from siblings to grandparents. Social circles appear to be a little 'clicky' but what school isn't? Great neighborhoods from seaside to rural. This town has it all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2006

Amazing teacher to student ratio
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 6, 2005

Falmouth High School is a great school with a firm foundation in the belief that all students have the ability and right to achieve. It utilizes both input and resources from the community and within the school to create a unique academic environment based on transparency. It provides its students with basis to become strong fundamental leaders in society, talented athletes, gifted artists, and most importantly an active participant in a community. The academic programs are amazing offering a variety of Honors and AP courses taught by talented and highly educated individuals whose mastery of their topics can be seconded by none. The strength of the History and English Departments are found seldom in similar communities, and the Math and Science Departments offer not only depth and clarity, but true interest for all students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 6, 2005

Best school system in Maine, no question. And, way ahead of their Greater Portland rivals in terms of meeting the needs of all learners. Best teachers, best coaches, best location, and top notch facilities.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Critical Reading

The state average for Critical Reading was 49% in 2013.

191 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

191 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 43% in 2013.

191 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the Maine High School Assessment (MHSA) to test students in grade 11 in critical reading, math, writing and science. The results reported show how well students are mastering state standards, specific skills defined by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 92%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
Black 1% 3%
Hispanic 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 1%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

74 Woodville Rd
Falmouth, ME 04105
Phone: (207) 781-7429

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Spurwink Services
Portland, ME




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT