Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Falmouth High School 4

Posted May 28, 2016
- a community member
How are new students just moving to Falmouth in High School (and Falmouth Middle School) treated? Are they included and made to feel welcome by students, teachers and staff?

Falmouth High School 2

Posted November 13, 2015
- a community member
I do not have a child that goes here nor do I have a child in any other high school. I have attended many athletic events at high schools around the state for work. FHS is the only school where the student body consistently and relentlessly heckles/insults and roots against their opponents, even to the point of singling out players. The truly disgusting part is the amusement the parents get from the jeers. When you are watching a game played in nice new gymnasium or on an expensive turf field, they do little to dispel the rich-Falmouth-snob stereotype. I mean their mascot is the Yachtsman. Seriously?! Well, they own it, for that I give them an extra star. Go Yacht.. I mean Don't GO other teams!!


Falmouth High School 5

Posted December 25, 2013
- a student
I attended Falmouth High School many years ago for all 4 years. I still look back at it as the best time of my life. I was a new student and immediately accepted. There were no cliques, but some harmless grouping of students. Falmouth is one of the wealthiest towns in Maine, but also has large rural, more middle class component - and blends well. Academics were as high as you will find in any school anywhere, but tailored to every level. I currently live in Fairfax, VA, who has almost 25% of all the top high schools in the Nation and I'd rather my kids went to Falmouth - a much smaller, friendlier, progressive, out-of-box thinking school that really should be the model for what a school should be. Athletics super top notch too - div III championships abound. I made the Top 10% in my class at Falmouth (barely) and still attended an Ivy League college. They prepare you for SAT test well. Other students in my class went to Harvard, MIT, etc. Unless something has drastically changed, you just cannot beat this school. If you think Falmouth home prices are high, come to Fairfax, VA, and see what it costs to get into a top school system!

Falmouth High School 5

Posted August 23, 2013
- a community member
My children do not go this school yet, but I did tour it recently. I was so impressed with both the school staff and the curricular programming. The new STEM and Arts programs seem particularly exciting. The principals of both the middle and high school seem to be fully engaged with the schools, and I loved the general energy of the place.

Falmouth High School 4

Posted June 29, 2010
- a community member
+ Strong focus on fundamental teaching as opposed to teaching-to-a-test. Top quality teachers who generally have 10-20+ years experience. Still relatively small class sizes, despite growth over the past 10 years. + Challenging course work for all levels of students + Opportunities to take "real world" classes - home economics, shop, typing, engineering, etc. + Very good arts program - pottery, drawing, theater, etc. + Teachers take a genuine interest in helping students learn, as well as helping kids in life. + Strong athletics program, top quality facilities, good junior varsity program for less gifted athletes. + Good relationships/reputation with the nation's top colleges. - Relatively homogeneous student/faculty bodies - Town growth has increased class sizes over the past 10 years


Falmouth High School 5

Posted October 02, 2009
- a student
Best school system In Maine. The post below has no idea. You are going to get cliques and not so well mannered kids everywhere but honestly this is one of the best schools ever. I attended college right out of High school and was so far ahead it was scary. The sports programs are number one and have been for many years. Each year Falmouth has several students going to Yale, Harvard, Brown etc. As I have stated this is one of the best schools in Maine!

Falmouth High School
no rating

Posted March 05, 2009
- a parent
The teachers are tired and teach the same curriculum over and over. Studies look sad and have no manners-cliques

Falmouth High School 5

Posted January 15, 2009
- a community member
The Falmouth school system is as good or better than most private school educational programs. I believe that this is due to the incredible teaching staff there as Falmouth is a destination, not a stepping stone, for many of its faculty.


Falmouth High School 5

Posted July 30, 2007
- a parent
The Falmouth school system is great! I've had 3 of my children enrolled since 1999 and 2 more on their way. Everyone's involved from siblings to grandparents. Social circles appear to be a little 'clicky' but what school isn't? Great neighborhoods from seaside to rural. This town has it all.

Falmouth High School 5

Posted May 09, 2006
- a student

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Falmouth High School
74 Woodville Rd, Falmouth, ME  04105
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (207) 781-7429
Last modified Falmouth High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top