Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Falmouth, ME
Students enrolled: 735

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Falmouth High School 5

Posted December 25, 2013
- a student
I attended Falmouth High School many years ago for all 4 years. I still look back at it as the best time of my life. I was a new student and immediately accepted. There were no cliques, but some harmless grouping of students. Falmouth is one of the wealthiest towns in Maine, but also has large rural, more middle class component - and blends well. Academics were as high as you will find in any school anywhere, but tailored to every level. I currently live in Fairfax, VA, who has almost 25% of all the top high schools in the Nation and I'd rather my kids went to Falmouth - a much smaller, friendlier, progressive, out-of-box thinking school that really should be the model for what a school should be. Athletics super top notch too - div III championships abound. I made the Top 10% in my class at Falmouth (barely) and still attended an Ivy League college. They prepare you for SAT test well. Other students in my class went to Harvard, MIT, etc. Unless something has drastically changed, you just cannot beat this school. If you think Falmouth home prices are high, come to Fairfax, VA, and see what it costs to get into a top school system!

Falmouth High School 5

Posted August 23, 2013
- a community member
My children do not go this school yet, but I did tour it recently. I was so impressed with both the school staff and the curricular programming. The new STEM and Arts programs seem particularly exciting. The principals of both the middle and high school seem to be fully engaged with the schools, and I loved the general energy of the place.


Falmouth High School 5

Posted October 02, 2009
- a student
Best school system In Maine. The post below has no idea. You are going to get cliques and not so well mannered kids everywhere but honestly this is one of the best schools ever. I attended college right out of High school and was so far ahead it was scary. The sports programs are number one and have been for many years. Each year Falmouth has several students going to Yale, Harvard, Brown etc. As I have stated this is one of the best schools in Maine!

Falmouth High School 0
no rating

Posted March 05, 2009
- a parent
The teachers are tired and teach the same curriculum over and over. Studies look sad and have no manners-cliques

Falmouth High School 5

Posted January 15, 2009
- a community member
The Falmouth school system is as good or better than most private school educational programs. I believe that this is due to the incredible teaching staff there as Falmouth is a destination, not a stepping stone, for many of its faculty.


Falmouth High School 4

Posted December 28, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Falmouth High School 1

Posted September 21, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Falmouth High School 5

Posted July 30, 2007
- a parent
The Falmouth school system is great! I've had 3 of my children enrolled since 1999 and 2 more on their way. Everyone's involved from siblings to grandparents. Social circles appear to be a little 'clicky' but what school isn't? Great neighborhoods from seaside to rural. This town has it all.


Falmouth High School 5

Posted May 09, 2006
- a student
Amazing teacher to student ratio

Falmouth High School 5

Posted August 06, 2005
- a student
Falmouth High School is a great school with a firm foundation in the belief that all students have the ability and right to achieve. It utilizes both input and resources from the community and within the school to create a unique academic environment based on transparency. It provides its students with basis to become strong fundamental leaders in society, talented athletes, gifted artists, and most importantly an active participant in a community. The academic programs are amazing offering a variety of Honors and AP courses taught by talented and highly educated individuals whose mastery of their topics can be seconded by none. The strength of the History and English Departments are found seldom in similar communities, and the Math and Science Departments offer not only depth and clarity, but true interest for all students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Falmouth High School
74 Woodville Rd, Falmouth, ME  04105
(207) 781-7429
Last modified Falmouth High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Falmouth High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top