Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Merriconeag Waldorf School 5

Posted May 01, 2015
- a parent
This is just a wonderful school. The faculty and staff are extraordinarily dedicated to making sure that EVERY student is treated as a unique individual and receives the education and support that he/she needs. They go far, far out of their way to do this. The other parents and families are very welcoming and it really is a terrific community of people. Overall, your children will get a high-quality education and be prepared for success in life (not just on standardized tests!).

Merriconeag Waldorf School 5

Posted June 02, 2014
- a teacher
I work at Merriconeag. I drive home every day wondering why more people don't try to send their children to this school. It is a uniquely wonderful place. The faculty care so much about each child.


Merriconeag Waldorf School 5

Posted August 31, 2010
- a parent
We have 3 children at this amazing Steiner school! Our eldest is entering 11 grade at the High School, our second child in 8th grade and our youngest just about to begin 6th grade. We love the community of parents staff, faculty and the curriculum. Since each of our children began in the Nursery & Kindergarten here, we have learned how to become compassionate & loving parents with healthy boundaries, routines & rhythms...that continue to evolve as our children grow into their teens and young adult years.. I

Merriconeag Waldorf School 1

Posted July 08, 2010
- a parent
People who support Waldorf ascribe to an unquestioning belief in the "teachings" of Rudolf Steiner. They are passionate! Hopefully, you'll get a great teacher. Otherwise, you're child is stuck from 1st grade 'til 8th. There is only the "Board" to talk to - mysterious, apparently made up of other teachers - no principal, not easy to voice concerns and see results. Your child must dress and eat according to acceptable guidelines. If you don't conform your family is ostracized. Too much parent involvement! "Therapy Sessions" is how one parent we know describes "parent evenings." The EC was more diverse in our experience - much more cultish and rigid later. If your child has special needs, class sizes are enormous and the special kids are left to flounder with one teacher to manage the group. They are suing people who leave the school for legitimate reasons, so don't sign a contract!

Merriconeag Waldorf School 5

Posted June 13, 2010
- a parent
Our children have attended Merriconeag for 12 years. I can't say enough good things about this experience, for our kids and for our family. Is it perfect - no. Has it been entirely smooth - no. Have I ever regretted our choice and would I prefer our children attend another school - definitely no. In our 12 years I have never seen a more dedicated, caring and capable group of teachers, that continue to work with families and students to get it right. I wish every child could have the benefit of a Waldorf education, one like at Merriconeag, as it truly meets each child exactly where they are, and supports them in becoming the people we know they are destined to be. From one very happy and involved Merriconeag parent.


Merriconeag Waldorf School 5

Posted June 13, 2010
- a parent
We've been at MWS for 13 years. Just today one of our teenagers asked if we wished we'd spent our money on things other than Waldorf education for them. Absolutely not. And, we are doing this for reasons greater than our own children's benefit: We are committed to the principles behind the education. If you are looking for a school which holds as a central goal the education of independent thinkers capable of really changing the world - this is the place. To be sure MWS is a REAL community, which means it has flaws. I will choose a real, working, growing, learning community over a "perfect" one any day.

Merriconeag Waldorf School 3

Posted February 03, 2010
- a parent
Politics amongst the admin is full of egos, an inability to take meaningful action, and rarely holds each other accountable in support of an individual family. A large part of the delivery of a Waldorf education depends on the teacher's ability to meet each child's needs with sensitivity and support (including supporting the parents). If u have bullying concerns or other problem(s),it's difficult to feel heard at Merriconeag without entering a series of meetings where, if offered, solutions are vague and dismissive, or the responsibility is left up to the parent to back off, pay for extra tutoring, Eurythmy, Speech, etc. The admin. is often not very supportive, and as a result, families leave disappointed, for multiple reasons. Unfortunaltely, the delivery of a quality Waldorf education is being compromised at this school. If you can handle the politics, dishonesty, & volunteering, welcome & enjoy!

Merriconeag Waldorf School 5

Posted February 02, 2010
- a parent
My children have been at Merriconeag for 9 years. It has been an extraordinary experience, not just for our children but for our family as a whole. The beauty of the education is that is gives kids a strong sense of themselves and an ability to receive information from a broad perpective. The curriculum is so rich and fluid and though the children are challenged, they are also geuinely supported as they move through the grades. The high school education at Merriconeag has been a revelation. It is a curriculum and sense of team building than no other high school can offer! Our family has also found a strong sense of community and friendship and a sense that every child and every family matters.


Merriconeag Waldorf School
no rating

Posted November 10, 2009
- a parent
My children have attended the Merriconeag Waldorf School from nursery school on. They are now in the high school and the middle school. Over all, their experience has been really good. Their teachers have shown them much love and support and have been almost as second parents to them. The rapport between students and teachers is friendly, open and warm. The children have been educated to use their hands as well as their minds. Arts, music, chorus, languages, mathematics... all are taught in an artistic, thoughtful way.

Merriconeag Waldorf School 1

Posted May 04, 2008
- a student
It was undisciplinary and supplied very low support. I am dissapointed with this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Merriconeag Waldorf School
57 Desert Road, Freeport, ME  04032
(207) 865-3900
Last modified Merriconeag Waldorf School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Merriconeag Waldorf School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top