Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Russell School

Public | K-2 | 271 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 1, 2014

This school does NOT handle kids with special needs or learning disabilities well. They claim they don't have the resources. Staff is pleasant but can be hard to communicate with. The transportation dept has been awful. Really hoping things will get better for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2010

My son attended this school and I agree the lunch period is just too short. A lot of times he didn't have time to finish his lunch. I sometimes wonder how this might have affected his and others learning. This seems to be the same case with Dunn as I noticed they had only alloted 20 minutes for lunch this year. The teachers are hit or miss as some teachers personalities can be considered quite rigid while others are more easy going. My son and his 1st grade teacher did not get along well, which impacted his view of school, but K and 2nd grade he loved his teachers. He still remembers how much he disliked that 1st grade teacher. Don't be afraid to stand up for your son or daughter if you feel the teacher is unduly hard on them, as we did and this seemed to help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

My son receives special services at Russell and I am extremely pleased with the Special Ed teacher as well as all of the ed techs. They really try to determine what's best for my son specifically and are not trying to use the same approach for all kids. They are willing to adjust plans based on his needs for a particular day. Some of the therapists are better than others but overall, a great experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2008

Great school... and many parents appreciate that this is a peanut-free zone. Keeps all kids safe. Hard to say that that's a bad thing. The teachers here are very caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2007

We are new to the area and my daughter is a kindergartener. I love the home town feel of the school. A couple of complaints: I don't like that it is a peanut free zone. I also don't like that the lunch periods are so short. So my only complaints are with the lunch period. The teachers, and the principal are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2006

This is a wonderful neighborhood type school. The teachers and staff are the best. They are finishing up their first year of all day kindergarden. What a difference this has made in the students. Much needed repairs to the building will begin this summer. I can't think of any other place I would rather send my daughter to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2005

My daughter just finished her first year in Kindergarten and I have been very happy with what I have experienced at Russell school. The teachers are great and the new principal is top notch. Mr. Joseph adds a lot to the school system and they are lucky to have him. The only thing I find dissapointing is the condition of the school. Its really a sad sight.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2004

Our first year here..My son is in kindergarten. The teacher's are wonderful. We have a new principal this year. He brings with him lots of ideas and energy which is ideal.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 92%
Black 2% 2%
Asian 1% 1%
Hispanic 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 28%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8 Gray Park
Gray, ME 04039
Phone: (207) 657-4929

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Royal Academy
Gray, ME


Burchard A Dunn School
New Gloucester, ME


Mse/MHC-Collaborative School
New Gloucester, ME


Memorial School
New Gloucester, ME



Rose Garden Preschool & More
North Yarmouth, ME


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT