Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Russell School 3

Posted April 01, 2014
- a parent
This school does NOT handle kids with special needs or learning disabilities well. They claim they don't have the resources. Staff is pleasant but can be hard to communicate with. The transportation dept has been awful. Really hoping things will get better for my child.

Russell School 4

Posted August 30, 2010
- a parent
My son attended this school and I agree the lunch period is just too short. A lot of times he didn't have time to finish his lunch. I sometimes wonder how this might have affected his and others learning. This seems to be the same case with Dunn as I noticed they had only alloted 20 minutes for lunch this year. The teachers are hit or miss as some teachers personalities can be considered quite rigid while others are more easy going. My son and his 1st grade teacher did not get along well, which impacted his view of school, but K and 2nd grade he loved his teachers. He still remembers how much he disliked that 1st grade teacher. Don't be afraid to stand up for your son or daughter if you feel the teacher is unduly hard on them, as we did and this seemed to help.


Russell School 5

Posted August 26, 2008
- a parent
My son receives special services at Russell and I am extremely pleased with the Special Ed teacher as well as all of the ed techs. They really try to determine what's best for my son specifically and are not trying to use the same approach for all kids. They are willing to adjust plans based on his needs for a particular day. Some of the therapists are better than others but overall, a great experience.

Russell School 5

Posted May 24, 2008
- a parent
Great school... and many parents appreciate that this is a peanut-free zone. Keeps all kids safe. Hard to say that that's a bad thing. The teachers here are very caring.

Russell School 5

Posted May 02, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Russell School 3

Posted November 05, 2007
- a parent
We are new to the area and my daughter is a kindergartener. I love the home town feel of the school. A couple of complaints: I don't like that it is a peanut free zone. I also don't like that the lunch periods are so short. So my only complaints are with the lunch period. The teachers, and the principal are great!

Russell School 5

Posted June 13, 2006
- a parent
This is a wonderful neighborhood type school. The teachers and staff are the best. They are finishing up their first year of all day kindergarden. What a difference this has made in the students. Much needed repairs to the building will begin this summer. I can't think of any other place I would rather send my daughter to school.

Russell School 4

Posted June 20, 2005
- a parent
My daughter just finished her first year in Kindergarten and I have been very happy with what I have experienced at Russell school. The teachers are great and the new principal is top notch. Mr. Joseph adds a lot to the school system and they are lucky to have him. The only thing I find dissapointing is the condition of the school. Its really a sad sight.


Russell School 4

Posted September 25, 2004
- a parent
Our first year here..My son is in kindergarten. The teacher's are wonderful. We have a new principal this year. He brings with him lots of ideas and energy which is ideal.

Russell School 3

Posted August 27, 2003
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Russell School
8 Gray Park, Gray, ME  04039
(207) 657-4929
Last modified Russell School is a Public school that serves grades PK-2
Russell School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top