Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Horace Mitchell Primary School 2

Posted March 25, 2016
- a parent
Poor communications from teacher to parent. Very little direction is provided or offered to parents to assist in the schools learning objectives. One parent teacher conference in the fall the next isn't until the spring. It's hard to focus or strengthen your child's potential weaknesses when there are only two face to face conferences, minimal to no teacher to parent communications, no follow through on 2nd report cards. Sadly disappointed by what great school has as a level 10 school. Principal is unapproachable but is at least decent with the children.

Horace Mitchell Primary School 1

Posted May 01, 2015
- a parent
Our first grader was reportedly doing well when we had the parent teacher conference. We were completely shocked when she was sent home with a failing report card. It would have been helpful if the teacher to contact me for help or to request help. My daughter has Autism and ADHD and dyslexia. The teacher told me to only communicate with her via phone due to her sarcastic writing style. What kind of sarcastic people teach first grade???


Horace Mitchell Primary School 1

Posted April 20, 2015
- a parent
Teaching first graders about transgender boy/girl. First graders!! Students and parents need to be "tolerate." Do not take my rights away to teach my child about issues like this one. If their is a student that is transgender that is still NO excuse to go ahead and teach 6/7 year old about transgender. No excuse at all! I'm a livid and so glad conservative media is reporting about this story.

Horace Mitchell Primary School 5

Posted July 05, 2013
- a parent
The school is orderly and neat. Teachers are very enthusiastic and knowledgeable. The environment and setting are very safe. In 2013, they implemented a security system with intercom and cameras. The only thing I wish they would include would be school uniforms but other than that It has been a great experience overall.

Horace Mitchell Primary School 5

Posted April 15, 2010
- a parent
My son began Kindergarten in September. By October, he knew 20 sight words. By December, he was reading me bed-time books! He is now learning about the embyro cycle of a chicken egg. The class has 8 eggs in incubation waiting to hatch. The class has done activities like this throughout the year. I am completely satisfied with this school and plan to make this area my perminant residence while my husband finishes his career in the military.


Horace Mitchell Primary School 5

Posted March 07, 2010
- a parent
Having just moved into the area with my family, I knew very little about the school prior to registering my children, however, only minutes into my first meeting with the principal, Mr. Foster, I knew I was putting my children into the best school imaginable. Mr. Foster took the time to speak to my two nervous children and personally escorted them around the school. He took the time to answer their questions and encouraged them to email him with any questions. When my daughter did, he responded promptly and told her he was looking forward to the new year. He, and many of the other teachers and employees, make this a truly extraordinary place to learn. This little seaside school is a gem.

Horace Mitchell Primary School 4

Posted August 10, 2009
- a parent
I have found Mitchell school to be a welcoming and stimulating school for my daughter. Her special education needs (speech therapy) were not only met but she no longer requires special services. Most of the teachers and faculty members I have dealt with have been extremely caring and helpful. The class sizes have been wonderfully small (this may be changing due to budget issues) and they have taken several field trips each year.

Horace Mitchell Primary School
no rating

Posted August 19, 2008
- a parent
I just read some of the previous reviews about the lack of attention to special needs kids & I just want to say that, not only were the teachers, guidance counseler & Mr. Foster instrumental in identifying my son's difficulties, they have been extremely vigilant in making sure he receives the supports he needs. I find that when you are an open & willing parent, the staff an Mitchell School excels in finding solutions for your child. I am very grateful to them for the attention they give.


Horace Mitchell Primary School 5

Posted April 12, 2008
- a parent
Mitchell is a wonderful school. The principal has been there for many years and has created a top notch learning environment. The teachers are highly dedicated and professional. The parents are very supportive of the school with an active PTA and strong volunteer efforts. I don't know what kind of extracurricular activities would be expected at a school for grades K-2. Kids club has been a great success with children choosing from a variety of opportunities including music, yoga, karate, science club and others. Great school

Horace Mitchell Primary School 2

Posted October 22, 2007
- a parent
There are practically no extracurricular activities. Kids neither have the opportunity to learn a second language nor to learn how to play an instrument.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Horace Mitchell Primary School
7 School Lane, Kittery Point, ME  03905
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (207) 439-1707
Last modified Horace Mitchell Primary School is a Public school that serves grades K-3. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top