Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Shapleigh School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 06, 2016
- a parent
Lauren Kennison was amazing as she filled in as a "long term sub" for 8th grade math. She helped so many students, none of the students under her watch were failing and she truly has a gift for educating. It was a tough transition when she left and the regular teacher came back. Many students grades dropped. Lauren is an asset.

Shapleigh School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted March 06, 2016
- a parent
while between my children they had 2 good teachers in their years at the school, the number of ones who need to either move on, receive professional development or make a career move out weigh those who are effective.


Shapleigh School 2

Posted March 06, 2016
- a parent
my child was humiliated and singled out time and time again by their teacher. After asking the teacher not to do this as this was embarrassing and causing tremendous stress and anxiety, no change. Reached out to principal and counseling staff, no change. The leadership at the school does not have control of the teachers. The teachers run the school, at the expense of the children. Sad, my child now has to deal with the emotional trauma left by the repeated occurrences within the 5th grade class.

Shapleigh School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted February 08, 2016
- a parent
Shapleigh school does care about feelings. Often to much. (in regards to principal, counseling staff and some teachers,, not all). There have been some teachers that do not at all. There tone and words are harsh and filled with negativity. Less than compassionate., caring and empathetic.

Shapleigh School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted February 08, 2016
- a parent
This school is far from encouraging integrity to its students. Character building program in shapleigh school needs a major overhaul. Fairness; no - staff are partial in their consequences and rewards. Honesty - somewhat, when the staff is specifically asked about situations than yes they are honest. However they do not offer the information, they do not inform the parents of situations which is the example being set for the children to follow.


Shapleigh School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted January 07, 2016
- a parent
Thank you for making us realize that this school is toxic and it fits right into the government standards for today's children.

Shapleigh School 1

Posted November 15, 2012
- a community member
This school is horrible. This is one of the most judgemental rats nests my son has ever been to! You see, my son has Asperger's syndrome and he tends to get emotional sometimes. The teachers don't even help. THEY HURT! If I had a penny for every single negative phone call I got about my son, I would by filthy rich. My son claims that thestaff spreads lies about him to me. I believe him. So parents, If you want a good school, GO TO YORK!

Shapleigh School 5

Posted April 24, 2012
- a teacher
Shapleigh Middle School is one of the best Middle schools I ever attended! It was amazing. All the teachers and staff are so unbeilevably amazing I can't tell you enogh about them. Students who are ocming to shapleigh from the millitary stand point are nervous and scared but at the end, they never want to leave. I also think its amazing that they do the kittery ME Amori Japan program. WOW great school! <3


Shapleigh School 2

Posted September 16, 2010
- a parent
The kittery school system in general is a joke. as a parent of 2 former students in 2 of the schools here i have to say that neither school performed as it should have. my daughter was being bullied by another student there and when i went to the school (after several unreturned calls and emails) i basically got blown off. this is totally unacceptable. the teachers were there "to make a paycheck" and that was it. This is one of MANY reasons why we left and went to York! if you are looking for a great school system then i STRONGLY suggest heading toward York! My kids are happier and doing much better there!! Good Luck! *I am giving 1 start ratings because unlike the teachers i give credit for at least trying*

Shapleigh School 1

Posted June 05, 2008
- a community member
I am so dissapppointed in this school now. I went here 4 years ago and it has really gone down hill. Kids are fighthing inthe halls and the resounces are very limited. The town really needs to add money to eextracurricular activity's options are very limited and even when you do join you make no impact here or at my school I just graduated from Traip

Nearby schools

Shapleigh School
43 Stevenson Rd, Kittery, ME  03904
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (207) 439-2572
Last modified Shapleigh School is a Public school that serves grades 4-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top