Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Kittery, ME
Students enrolled: 272

3 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Robert W Traip Academy 4

Posted November 09, 2011
- a student
As a current student at TA I have to say that the school has made much improvements over the past few years especially with the new superintendent trying to make the school more modern. The school embraces it's small size and with that you as a student are able to get to know your peers, teachers and other staff really well. This is my second year at TA and between this year and last year there are much improvements at the school which allows the students and the staff members to have a more enjoyable place to come learn and work. Also with the Superintendent as a sort of co-principle at the school being their at the school a few days out of the week it gives a stronger sense of leadership that the administration has at the school making students more respectful and complying with rules as compared to last year. If their were anything I would like to change at the school it would probably be the lack of more choices to take classes out side of the TA class room. Other wise this is a great school with great academics, great athletics, and a great environment.

Robert W Traip Academy 2

Posted July 28, 2011
- a student
Although most teachers care about teaching at this school, there is no respect between the students or teachers. Teachers frequently gossip about students and one another. There are extremely explicit conversations that occur during the school day, and most parents would be appalled by what is said throughout the day. Traip has very poor time management, and most classes are spent with the students sitting on their laptops using tumblr and facebook, even though they were blocked. Traip is chaotic and possesses a very distracting and frustrating learning environment. I am so relieved to be graduating this upcoming year, as Traip has taken quite a toll on my emotional wellbeing. I deeply regret not attending a private or boarding school for my high school years.


Robert W Traip Academy 1

Posted June 30, 2010
- a student
There is nothing great about traip. I was a student from 2005-2009. All but two teachers that I had, did not care about the students, they're only there for the money they're (not) receiving. Traip did not challenge me at all. Most of my class I would get a passing grade for sadly just sitting there and doing nothing. I realize that school is the experience that you make it however, it helps if the teachers would care and if it would have more extra curricular activites. This school is just awful.

Robert W Traip Academy 5

Posted April 16, 2010
- a student
Great school, great teachers, could be a better school if the principal could become full time, great athletics, always competitive student athletes, I wouldn't put the students, the future of this town at any other school.

Robert W Traip Academy 0
no rating

Posted April 16, 2010
- a student
Don't cry over your child being challenged, it is school, if you graduated you would understand, the work load is just right, as a senior you are given freedom to an extent, you are still challenged and guidance is offered strongly if you desire. the school does great for the budget it works with.


Robert W Traip Academy 5

Posted January 28, 2010
- a parent
Great teachers who care about the students. They take the time to know the kids and what makes them tick. If the kids want to be challenged, they will be. It is a small school but offers online course, independent student, etc. I give Traip high grades.

Robert W Traip Academy 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
This school is a disgrace, I am not impressed with the teaching, and I feel the kids have way to much work after school!

Robert W Traip Academy 2

Posted April 02, 2009
- a parent
I am not impressed with this school at all! The communication is terrible I receive a letter about a concern with my daughter when I called to discuss it I left a message with the assistant principal and got not response. This is my daughers second year in the school and had the same problem last year as well would send emails and call no responses.


Robert W Traip Academy 1

Posted November 29, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Robert W Traip Academy 1

Posted November 16, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Robert W Traip Academy
12 Williams Ave, Kittery, ME  03904
(207) 439-1121
Last modified Robert W Traip Academy is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Robert W Traip Academy Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top