Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Farwell Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 399 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 5, 2010

Farwell was the only choice for children. After looking into various other elementary schools and meeting the principal and some of the teachers, we found that the environment at Farwell was so much better than the other schools. I have no idea how Longley ended up rated number 1...but like they say...Don't always believe everything you read.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2009

My grandchildren attend Farwell school and I am very impressed with Principal St.Andre, the teachers and students' behavior. I find that teachers and staff care greatly about the students and it shows in the students' grades and behavior.


Posted June 26, 2008

Farwell has been a great school for the 7 years i'v been there. I used to think a few teachers where mean but then i realized that they are STRICT not mean its just that they are doing there job. Teaching. As the first graduating class of Farwell School. We, need to realize this is the first year at the new location somethings went bad some good you cant expect everything to be perfect can you?those bads are going to get fixed for the following years...My last year at farwell school Was great. We had great teachers not just them but our entire time at farwell Elementary School .
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 15, 2008

My son was able to attend the Pre K progam this year at Farwell and he loves it. When they had vaction he was sad because he was not able to go to school. The teachers are wonderful with the children and very understanding. I do wish we as parents had aa chance to be more involved with the class. I know that my husband and I bought our house so we could have our children attend farwell school because of the wonderful things we have heard. We are looking forward to our son coming to this school next year. I am hopeful that they will have some after school activities for the older children down the road. We as parents are looking forward to many more years here at Farwell School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2005

My neices are 8 and 12 and have luckily been at Farwell all of their school age years. They are involved in after school activities like band and student councel. The teachers have always been available upon request and have even let me volunteer to chaperone field trips though I have no children at this school. I don't mean to be too judgemental but sometimes I think that too many parents aren't persistent enough where their children are concerned. Budgets and the number of available teachers are issues everywhere and there is a higher demand for them to see results. Thank God for Bush! You need to insist on better programs or responses if you believe it isn't good enough. We live in a democracy where one person can make a difference. Instead of using your time writing negative responses, spend your time more wisely making changes in your child's life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2005

My daughter attended kindergarten at farwell and will not be there next year. The classes are to big and there are to many special needs in the class. My daughter is getting pushed aside and didn't learn much this year. I am sending her to a private school for 1st grade. The teacher is nice but noone can control that many kids. I have been in the class and it is a circus. I have walked off the school yard with other kids due to their mother's being late with no problem at all. That scares me. They all bust out of that door and the teacher's don't know where they are going after that. I get very little feedback from the school as to how she is doing. Only 1 parent teacher conference in a year? I would like to be more involved but don't feel comfortable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2004

My daughter has been at Farwell Elementary for two years. This year will be her third. Both years she has attended there, have been negative experiences for her. When she was having difficulties last year, some of the teachers told her to ignore the problems. I thought this was a school for involvement. Most of the incidents happened out at recess. Now, if you ask me, 2 adults for approx. 100 students is not sufficient supervision. The cafeteria people are extremely nice, and some of the teachers are nice, but there is much that needs to change. On this website it says that parents are encouraged to volunteer. On a few occasions, I was asked not to. Which is it? Do they like us to volunteer or don't they. Also, there is hardly anything for the kids to do as far as Extra Carricular activities. Maybe your child would like it better.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 45% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 70% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the Maine Educational Assessment (MEA) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MEA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 92%
Two or more races 18% 2%
Hispanic 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% 1%
Black 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 62%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

84110 Farwell St
Lewiston, ME 04240
Phone: (207) 795-4110

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Montello School
Lewiston, ME






Martel School
Lewiston, ME


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT