Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lewiston Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 635 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 13, 2013

I go to school here currently, and the teachers are helpful, nice and all that. But, most of them are clueless of what is happening. If you even tell someone that you are being bullied, nothing happens anyways. That's why kids are always taking matters into their own hands.


Posted November 6, 2009

As a former student of lms, i think the school is not very well educated. The only thing that's good about that school is that there is no racist people. You always feel welcome but they need to work on education. I attened lms for 7th grade and i'm a freshman at a school in missouri which is much better but i miss my old frieds!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 23, 2009

My child really hates this school.I also don't like this school because they have really bad teachers.They ares o mean.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2008

hard place for kids to learn because they keep on getting harrased by other kids because not all the teachers are paying attention at the time. middle school student, tyler cochrane
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 29, 2007

My daughter was a below average student last year. This year as a 7th grader at Lewiston Middle School she is blossoming and has become a mostly A, B student! :~)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2007

This school gives everyone a chance. I as a former student loved the teachers there. They were extremely helpful, including the new teachers.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 9, 2005

My daughter transferred to LMS this school year as an 8th grader from a very small private school. It is the best thing I could have ever done for her. Her teachers are excellent and she has had many opportunities that she could not get in private school. She is being challenged and exposed to many enriching classes and activities. The teachers recognize hard work, leadership, and organization whenever it occurs. It is a very large school and in this case bigger is definitely better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2005

My son just completed his second year at LMS and will be attending LHS next year. He has had some outstanding teachers who challenged and encouraged him to become a better student. I have been very pleased with the quality of education he received at LMS. Thank you to all the teachers for their hard work and dedication!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2005

As a student at LMS I'd like to say that although we dont look like a well educated school, we have spectacular teachers that shouldn't be penalized for the lack of effort put forth by LMS students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 23, 2004

We have a beautiful home and are being forced to move because LMS is negatively impacting my child. If your child is not an 'A' student they will be placed on a team and surrounded by kids that are only in school because they have to be. There's a difference between a child that struggles and a child that doesn't care and whose parent(s) aren't involved. We are involved parents that are dealing with administration that doesn't care and teachers that are overwhelmed. If schoolwork doesn't come easily, send your child to another school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2004

The school has an atmosphere of paranoia. If your child 'slips up,' he is 'branded' by the teachers in his 'Team' and his parents are, too. There's nothing they can do to change the teachers' minds. Try to keep his siblings from getting assigned the same Team as he did so they'll have a chance. Admin is inflexible and difficult to communicate with. But LMS the only show in town. Just hold your breath, hope your kid is a model student (they're the only ones who get any kind of positive reinforcement), and hope for the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2004

I believe that Lewiston Middle school has a good idea of what should be happeneing. I think that if the school gets the objective to look at all the laptops the whole school would be much better.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

342 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

343 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

365 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

366 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

364 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 70% in 2013.

373 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the Maine Educational Assessment (MEA) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MEA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 92%
Two or more races 26% 2%
Hispanic 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% 1%
Black 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 64%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

75 Central Ave
Lewiston, ME 04240
Phone: (207) 795-4180

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Dirigo Prace School
Lewiston, ME





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT