Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Montello School

Public | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 13, 2014

Montello is a great school with lots of diversity. The location is fantastic and located near Thorncrag Bird Sanctuary. Classroom size averages to about 20 students per class. There ARE many Ed Techs available. The staff is friendly & courteous. The parent group holds fun events throughout the year. There is a talent show, science fair and many activities for students and their families to enjoy. The entrance to the school is newly remodeled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2014

My sons have had the most caring teachers, accommodating to their needs, and always engaging their minds to grow
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2012

In my opinion Montello has a long way to go to be a great school. The classes are very large and they have no ed tech's or assistant teachers. My main issue is that my 5 year old son has a peanut allergy and peanut butter sandwiches are served daily in the cafeteria. They do not have a peanut free table and were not interested in creating one to protect my child's life. I bought a new house in a different school district simply so my child could get a quality education and be safe at school. The school also has an extremely high Somalian population. Many of the teachers are busy teaching english instead of grade appropriate material.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2012

Take a closer look at the the program of what they teach and how long they teach the school. Fights occur frequently in this school and the lack of discipline tells the students that its ok. Ask the teachers about the school and how often teachers are changed and ask what they think about the programs and how they rate their admin when it comes to children's education. Ask more than one teacher and the results will surprise you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2011

I currently have two children who are attending their second year going to Montello. I cannot believe how well this school is run. The teachers and principals are excellent. What amazes me is that the principal and vice principal are not just sitting behind a desk all day. They are seen directly involved with the children in school hallways. It is nice that even though this school is large that I, or my two children, will be recognized by both of these principals. I have to admit that Lewiston has be hit very hard with the somali settlement. This does cause for intercultural learning and tolerance for others that are different from you. They deal with this issue very well. I cannot imagine being a teacher to some that don't even speak English let alone write it. I do agree that State and National testing scores are shown much lower due to this reason. The principal is so smart and caring. I feel comfortable discussing any issues that may come up with my children. Nobody is perfect, but I rate Montello as definitely above average.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2011

When does school start? when summer is over.Does any body know?just wondering. thank you for your feed back its a really great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

montello is a wonderful school my child was going to another lewiston school and she was struggling very much there as soon as i changed her school to montello she has been amazing and loves going to school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2008

We have 3 children who attend this school and are doing well academically. It should be indicated that Montello has a very diverse student population, many whose families do not speak English and I believe this accounts for some of the scores reflected as these children are still having to be tested to the same standards. Our children are learning respect, tolerance, acceptance, and empathy for all people while being at Montello- all characteristics we find very important as social beings aside from our levels of ability or intelligence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2008

I was a student at Montello for 4 years and it was great. All the teachers are nice and help you do your best. It is a pretty big school but still awesome
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 10, 2008

i am a student at montello and i am loving it
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 45% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
24%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 70% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
25%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the Maine Educational Assessment (MEA) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MEA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 92%
Black 40% 3%
Hispanic 4% 2%
Two or more races 4% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 77%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

407 East Ave
Lewiston, ME 04240
Phone: (207) 795-4150

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT