Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Vineyard Christian School

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Lewiston

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $134,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $710.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 14, 2011

Our child has been attending since K and is now entering 8th grade. All of his teachers have been great in communicating about him and have always appreciated their open door policy. We have been pleased with his progress academically, socially and spiritually and commend the relationships that the teachers develop with all the students. Sports have really grown in that there is soccer, basketball, cross country, and girls' softball, developmental baseball & soccer for the little ones. The graduates have gone off to varied universities from USM, UME, UNE, Gordon College, Oral Roberts Univ, Thomas College, Waynesburg Univ-PA., Castleton Colleg-VT, Cedarville Univ (Pharmacy Program), St. Joseph's, etc which shows me the graduates can compete and enter a varied scope of universities. As noted in a prior rating not all the teachers have degrees but the ones that don't each have over 17 years of teaching in the primary grades so I know their experience far outreaches a degree and are excellent teachers that are continually learning how to reach each child.,,,as are all the staff. If you are interested in a solid Christian World View Education. Check it out .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2010

Both of my children graduated from the Vineyard School and the relationships with the staff of the school continues. VCS was a positive experience for them and they are thankful for the academic and spiritual growth they experienced during those years. Their teachers will never be forgotten.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2010

Maybe it would be interesting to know that some of the teachers do not have college educations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Both of my daughters graduated from there. It's a wonderful school - the children know they are loved and that their teachers care if they do well.


Posted March 21, 2009

I have children that have attended here for 2 years (8th and 10th grades). It gives me great peace of mind on a daily basis knowing they are attending a school that has a positive environment and employs teachers that are great student advocates. There is a dress code that can be a struggle at times and could stand to be a little more colorful, the academics are strong and the teachers are great and easy to communicate with. I love Vineyard and will keep my children there for as long as financially possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2008

I think that this school is worthy of admiration from other schools. I just started going to this school this year, but I can say from experience of other schools, that this one is wonderful. I enjoy attending it and say good job, VCS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 12, 2007

Awesome school. Great curriculum. The teachers really care about the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2006

My oldest daughter was the first student to graduate that attended from the start of the school. She began in her junior year, and we saw a huge jump in her GPA (even though the classes were much more difficult than those she had been taking) as well as her social and emotional growth. And she started smiling! She will be graduating with honors from college this spring... My other daughter will be graduating this year from the Vineyard. When she started she was in 6th grade; one of two students - there will be nine in her graduating class this year. This has been such a good exprience for my girls - there may be limited choices, but the teachers are wonderfully compassionate, professional, and intelligent. It seems as if my kids are better prepared in many ways (not just academically) for college than some of their public school friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2006

This is a wonderful combination of academic education and character development. The environment is friendly, creative and caring. My girls have attended here for one year now and they love it! Their grades have improved as the year has gone on, along with their attitude toward school. I love the blend of knowing that they are learning academic excellence coupled with strong moral character. This is a growing school, so is still a bit limited with some aspects of extra-curricular activities. There are soccer, softball, basketball sports available. There is a wonderful drama program run by professionals. There is currently no library at the school, but they make good use of the local public library. Parent involvement is encouraged and appreciated, the atmosphere in the classroom is wonderful. Such a breath of fresh air for us and our girls who are going into grades 7 and 5 this coming year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 94%
Two or more races 6% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% N/A
Asian 2% N/A
Black 2% 2%
Hispanic 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 1%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9 Foss Rd
Lewiston, ME 04240
Phone: (207) 784-9500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Martel School
Lewiston, ME



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT