Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lisbon Community School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 24, 2014

They offer a quite a few after school programs and has a good rec program. My child learned a lot and was happy every year that they went there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2014

My children have gone through this school and are currently at the middle school and high school. They have been challenged, offered opportunities and a variety of activities. The staff are amazing and friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2013

This school has turned out to be a fantastic place to bring my children. There are daily alert emails sent telling you what is happening in the school & what is going to happen. The teachers I have met are all wonderful. I will get a phone call or email if anything goes on that I need to be aware of, & sometimes just to keep in touch. There are many different free activities going on every month for children & parents to participate in. I walk into the building & the V. Principle knows my children & I by our names, not because they are trouble, but just because. This is a small & closeknit town, I have found it to be a wonderful place to live, work, & learn. I can honestly say this town is a wonderful place to raise children. * * * GO GREYHOUNDS!!!* * *
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2012

The school looks nice, the teachers seem nice but I seriously have to question the learning method. I have volunteered in my daughters classroom on numerous occasions and there is NO discipline on the base level. The children are not focused or structured and there seems to be a very low standard of learning- there are kids reading the same level books they started with at the end of the year. Budget cuts have sliced the 'gifted and talented' program with nothing in its place. I would have to question the other reviewers....it takes more than a NICE looking school and NICE teachers to make a learning system successful!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

All public school systems are less than desirable, however, LCS is really on top of the children, they offer excellent school programs, and so far they have not made any drastic budget cuts. My daughter Chloe loves it, and the teachers are wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2009

LCS has been amazing working us and our son. I am so impressed with the quality and compassion of every teacher my son has had the opportunity to learn with! Amazing support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2009

I have two daughters and they both love the school. The teachers are all wonderful people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2008

The teachers go out of their way to help the kids here. It's a fairly good sized school but small enough that the kids and teachers get to know each other well by the end of the school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2008

My 2 children attended school there and I seriously question what my oldest learned in the 3 years that she attended there! We have since moved to a different state and we are playing major catch up! When my oldest attended her grades were awesome, however there was never any homework. Which I always thought was odd. I never felt welcomed by the principal. The discipline at the school is non exsistant, I witnessed kids being bullied and fights and nothing being done about it. Just administration looking the other way. Thankfully my youngest had a wonderful kindergarten teacher and really got out to a great start with her and thankfully we moved before all of that hard work would be screwed up. There's a reason this school ranks a 3 out 10, doesn't say too much for the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2008

This school is fantastic. The staff is wonderful and extremely caring about it's students. Since the school district started NWEA testing the students have been preforming better and teachers are able to hit targeted areas where more learning is needed. My children are in 1st and 4th and they've loved every teacher they have had and are doing great. Thanks Lisbon!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2008

I have a child going into third grade, and one starting kindergarten. I love this school, and what it stands for...
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 45% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 70% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the Maine Educational Assessment (MEA) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MEA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 92%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Black 1% 3%
Hispanic 1% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 6%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

33 Mill St
Lisbon, ME 04250
Phone: (207) 353-4132

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT