Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Messalonskee High School

Public | 9-12

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 3, 2011

Messalonskee's administration (superintendent, asst superintendent, hs principals, and athletic director) are not strong leaders. Recent hires haven't included strong candidates. Example: the assistant superintendent made a mess as the high school principal, so she was promoted. Co-principals at the high school are in place now.and neither person is adequate. I agree with other reviews, the rich parents and kids rule the roost. The staff won't cooperate, and there isn't much trust. The moral is very low.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2010

As a former student at Messalonskee, I'm quite baffled at all the "poor" vs. "rich" kids comments being made. While I was in school, I never once noticed that the economic status of a student's family was ever of such high importance. I also got along with just about everyone, and didn't necessarily come from "money" and was never dubbed a "rich kid." The Emo craze was just starting to take over by the time I was graduating, too. Maybe something changed since, but MHS was always a great school academically and socially. Other local schools were far more "cliquey" than Messalonskee ever was. Maybe, some years ago, they should have rethought their administrative/principal changes?
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 30, 2010

i currently attend messalonskee high school and i am very happy with the teachers. we also have an amazing music program. sadly, most of our student body is composed of very poor students. the few rich students always get everything, such as trips, sports, and pictures in the yearbooks. our sports programs are pretty good, and the teachers are amazing!! well, the ones who don't talk to rocks :) (that was a joke mrs sammons!) overall, messalonskee is a pretty good district.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 13, 2008

CONT. from above. a lot of poor kids and not a lot of kids in between. The rich kids always got to go on the trips and get lots of pics in the year book. The poor kids qualified for the activities but were too embarrassed to go because the rich kids would have made fun of them. The academics at MHS are great. Teachers want kids to suceed and are available for support. Unfortunately the kids are punks. So you'll have to weight the pros and cons for yourself.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 2, 2008

I was in Messalonskee district for a long time. I was always very disapointed with everything. Hardly any of the students have any money, most everyone is very poor, so they cannot participate in any of field trips that cost. Oakland is a very poor town, and they should have more money towards the town so it doesn't look like a complete dump. I was so happy when I moved away from this school system and town. The Messalonskee Middle school just built is alright, but they could do a whole lot better with the students disapline and staff members. too many kids have formed cliques and that is not alright. this school is dangerous; kids are out of control. I have too many negative things to say about this school. I would never sent my children here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 25, 2008

I am a current student at Messalonskee High School. Messalonskee is a excellent school for academics and athlethics. Most of the teachers I have encountered have been great, they seem to care greatly about student achivement. However the students are something I would like to complain about. I moved in this school system quite sometime ago. Most of the students are spoiled rich preppy kids who think they are better than everyone else. Making fun of people is the norm in the school. This school is very 'cliquey'.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 8, 2007

Some teachers are a little out of wack, but most of them are the most awesomist!!! Programs and sports here are very good. I love that i am in the Messalonskee School District!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 18, 2004

The strength of the school lies in the friendliness and effectiveness of its teachers. The weaknesses of the school are the administration and misguided funding.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Critical Reading

The state average for Critical Reading was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
42%
Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
45%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
43%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 43% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the Maine High School Assessment (MHSA) to test students in grade 11 in critical reading, math, writing and science. The results reported show how well students are mastering state standards, specific skills defined by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

131 Messalonskee High Dr
Oakland, ME 04963
Phone: (207) 465-7381

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Temple Academy
Waterville, ME






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT