Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Messalonskee High School 1

Posted December 10, 2014
- a community member
SOME wonderfully dedicated teachers being destroyed by an overly micromanaging administration and SYSTEM. Unhealthy student culture overall. Not much overlap between extracurriculars because coaches rarely tolerate other interests student might be exploring, and this is tolerated by administration? Filthy unsanitary bathrooms. Athletes just biding their time before practice often allowed to act like arrogant imbeciles disrupting classes for serious students. Hallways always full of kids during class time who should be somewhere learning something? Tedious new meaningless grading system 1-4 is just as, if not more subjective than old A-F. Also many of the AP courses were dumbed down because of Mass Customized Learning, an excruciatingly tedious system with a million tiny incremental baby steps that made things horribly boring for kids who go to school to learn big things. Parents say "can't wait to be done with the place." Going to take years to works its way back to respectable.

Messalonskee High School 1

Posted June 03, 2011
- a parent
Messalonskee's administration (superintendent, asst superintendent, hs principals, and athletic director) are not strong leaders. Recent hires haven't included strong candidates. Example: the assistant superintendent made a mess as the high school principal, so she was promoted. Co-principals at the high school are in place now.and neither person is adequate. I agree with other reviews, the rich parents and kids rule the roost. The staff won't cooperate, and there isn't much trust. The moral is very low.


Messalonskee High School 4

Posted July 27, 2010
- a student
As a former student at Messalonskee, I'm quite baffled at all the "poor" vs. "rich" kids comments being made. While I was in school, I never once noticed that the economic status of a student's family was ever of such high importance. I also got along with just about everyone, and didn't necessarily come from "money" and was never dubbed a "rich kid." The Emo craze was just starting to take over by the time I was graduating, too. Maybe something changed since, but MHS was always a great school academically and socially. Other local schools were far more "cliquey" than Messalonskee ever was. Maybe, some years ago, they should have rethought their administrative/principal changes?

Messalonskee High School 3

Posted March 30, 2010
- a student
i currently attend messalonskee high school and i am very happy with the teachers. we also have an amazing music program. sadly, most of our student body is composed of very poor students. the few rich students always get everything, such as trips, sports, and pictures in the yearbooks. our sports programs are pretty good, and the teachers are amazing!! well, the ones who don't talk to rocks :) (that was a joke mrs sammons!) overall, messalonskee is a pretty good district.

Messalonskee High School 5

Posted February 15, 2010
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Messalonskee High School 2

Posted January 08, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Messalonskee High School 0
no rating

Posted September 13, 2008
- a student
CONT. from above. a lot of poor kids and not a lot of kids in between. The rich kids always got to go on the trips and get lots of pics in the year book. The poor kids qualified for the activities but were too embarrassed to go because the rich kids would have made fun of them. The academics at MHS are great. Teachers want kids to suceed and are available for support. Unfortunately the kids are punks. So you'll have to weight the pros and cons for yourself.

Messalonskee High School 1

Posted August 02, 2008
- a student
I was in Messalonskee district for a long time. I was always very disapointed with everything. Hardly any of the students have any money, most everyone is very poor, so they cannot participate in any of field trips that cost. Oakland is a very poor town, and they should have more money towards the town so it doesn't look like a complete dump. I was so happy when I moved away from this school system and town. The Messalonskee Middle school just built is alright, but they could do a whole lot better with the students disapline and staff members. too many kids have formed cliques and that is not alright. this school is dangerous; kids are out of control. I have too many negative things to say about this school. I would never sent my children here.


Messalonskee High School 3

Posted February 25, 2008
- a student
I am a current student at Messalonskee High School. Messalonskee is a excellent school for academics and athlethics. Most of the teachers I have encountered have been great, they seem to care greatly about student achivement. However the students are something I would like to complain about. I moved in this school system quite sometime ago. Most of the students are spoiled rich preppy kids who think they are better than everyone else. Making fun of people is the norm in the school. This school is very 'cliquey'.

Messalonskee High School 2

Posted August 22, 2007
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Messalonskee High School
131 Messalonskee High Dr, Oakland, ME  04963
(207) 465-7381
Last modified Messalonskee High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12
Messalonskee High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top