Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Messalonskee High School 1

Posted December 10, 2014
- a community member
SOME wonderfully dedicated teachers being destroyed by an overly micromanaging administration and SYSTEM. Unhealthy student culture overall. Not much overlap between extracurriculars because coaches rarely tolerate other interests student might be exploring, and this is tolerated by administration? Filthy unsanitary bathrooms. Athletes just biding their time before practice often allowed to act like arrogant imbeciles disrupting classes for serious students. Hallways always full of kids during class time who should be somewhere learning something? Tedious new meaningless grading system 1-4 is just as, if not more subjective than old A-F. Also many of the AP courses were dumbed down because of Mass Customized Learning, an excruciatingly tedious system with a million tiny incremental baby steps that made things horribly boring for kids who go to school to learn big things. Parents say "can't wait to be done with the place." Going to take years to works its way back to respectable.

Messalonskee High School 1

Posted June 03, 2011
- a parent
Messalonskee's administration (superintendent, asst superintendent, hs principals, and athletic director) are not strong leaders. Recent hires haven't included strong candidates. Example: the assistant superintendent made a mess as the high school principal, so she was promoted. Co-principals at the high school are in place now.and neither person is adequate. I agree with other reviews, the rich parents and kids rule the roost. The staff won't cooperate, and there isn't much trust. The moral is very low.


Messalonskee High School 4

Posted July 27, 2010
- a student
As a former student at Messalonskee, I'm quite baffled at all the "poor" vs. "rich" kids comments being made. While I was in school, I never once noticed that the economic status of a student's family was ever of such high importance. I also got along with just about everyone, and didn't necessarily come from "money" and was never dubbed a "rich kid." The Emo craze was just starting to take over by the time I was graduating, too. Maybe something changed since, but MHS was always a great school academically and socially. Other local schools were far more "cliquey" than Messalonskee ever was. Maybe, some years ago, they should have rethought their administrative/principal changes?

Messalonskee High School 3

Posted March 30, 2010
- a student
i currently attend messalonskee high school and i am very happy with the teachers. we also have an amazing music program. sadly, most of our student body is composed of very poor students. the few rich students always get everything, such as trips, sports, and pictures in the yearbooks. our sports programs are pretty good, and the teachers are amazing!! well, the ones who don't talk to rocks :) (that was a joke mrs sammons!) overall, messalonskee is a pretty good district.

Messalonskee High School
no rating

Posted September 13, 2008
- a student
CONT. from above. a lot of poor kids and not a lot of kids in between. The rich kids always got to go on the trips and get lots of pics in the year book. The poor kids qualified for the activities but were too embarrassed to go because the rich kids would have made fun of them. The academics at MHS are great. Teachers want kids to suceed and are available for support. Unfortunately the kids are punks. So you'll have to weight the pros and cons for yourself.


Messalonskee High School 1

Posted August 02, 2008
- a student
I was in Messalonskee district for a long time. I was always very disapointed with everything. Hardly any of the students have any money, most everyone is very poor, so they cannot participate in any of field trips that cost. Oakland is a very poor town, and they should have more money towards the town so it doesn't look like a complete dump. I was so happy when I moved away from this school system and town. The Messalonskee Middle school just built is alright, but they could do a whole lot better with the students disapline and staff members. too many kids have formed cliques and that is not alright. this school is dangerous; kids are out of control. I have too many negative things to say about this school. I would never sent my children here.

Messalonskee High School 3

Posted February 25, 2008
- a student
I am a current student at Messalonskee High School. Messalonskee is a excellent school for academics and athlethics. Most of the teachers I have encountered have been great, they seem to care greatly about student achivement. However the students are something I would like to complain about. I moved in this school system quite sometime ago. Most of the students are spoiled rich preppy kids who think they are better than everyone else. Making fun of people is the norm in the school. This school is very 'cliquey'.

Messalonskee High School 5

Posted June 08, 2007
- a student
Some teachers are a little out of wack, but most of them are the most awesomist!!! Programs and sports here are very good. I love that i am in the Messalonskee School District!


Messalonskee High School 4

Posted April 18, 2004
- a student
The strength of the school lies in the friendliness and effectiveness of its teachers. The weaknesses of the school are the administration and misguided funding.

Nearby schools

Messalonskee High School
131 Messalonskee High Dr, Oakland, ME  04963
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (207) 465-7381
Last modified Messalonskee High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12
Top