Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Old Orchard Beach High School 5

Posted September 13, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Old Orchard Beach High School 5

Posted April 11, 2009
- a student
I am a senior at OOBHS and in my life I have gone to four different high schools and this one is by far the best. I feel that the teacher commitment and guidance department is second to none and they truly care about student success. It is a small school so each student can get the help they need and there is a chance for everyone to be successful but the downside is there aren't many elective classes to appeal to everyone. I also feel that the facility itself is in need of renovation because its current condition severely lowers student morale. But despite that, the technology is all recent and extracurricular activities are well involved. The school is not well supported by the town that its in, however the teachers there continue to try and make it the best they possibly can.


Old Orchard Beach High School 5

Posted June 10, 2008
- a teacher
I love OOBHS. It truly is the best place to have a learning, yet memorable experience. Both of my sisters attended OOBHS and they are doing great. One attended Bentley College and graduated Cum Laude (with honors). She will gladly say that it is all because of the structure of Mr. Marhall's english class. The other is a sophomore at Simmons. She just recieved a 3.65 for the year. Plus the sports here are fantastic. Don't forget that it is like a minute from the beach.

Old Orchard Beach High School 1

Posted February 07, 2008
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Old Orchard Beach High School 1

Posted August 28, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Old Orchard Beach High School 1

Posted November 21, 2006
- a parent
While the extracurricular activities at the school may be impressive, as a parent I am concerned that the High School's performance on standardized tests is seriously lacking. Comparing Old Orchard Beach High School with 16 other schools of similar population, community demographics, education levels and income, the high school ranks 16th or lowest in science and math and tied for 12th in reading. It ranks 5th in writing. Given the emphasis on strengthing math and science in Maine and the nation, these scores are a compelling agrument for systematic change which need to occur now if our children are to compete in the marketplace. Small class sizes may be a plus but I think it limits the course offerings and the depth of content that will prepare students to be life long learners.

Old Orchard Beach High School 5

Posted March 03, 2006
- a parent
This school is absolutely incredible. I'm so proud that my child is enrolled in it, I just can't get enough! Congratulations to the school and to the teachers, students and faculty. You've really outdone yourselves!

Old Orchard Beach High School 3

Posted March 30, 2005
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Old Orchard Beach High School
40 East Emerson Cummings Blvd, Old Orchard Beach, ME  04064
(207) 934-4461
Last modified Old Orchard Beach High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12
Old Orchard Beach High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top