Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Orono High School

Public | 9-12

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 12, 2013

How could anybody possibly give this school a bad review, I am a freshman at OHS, and I don't have one bad thing to say about the staff, they are caring. When you need one on one help, the teachers are glad to help during a study hall, before or after school. I feel that I am get the best possible education at this point, and I love it here. And there is a no bullying policy and they actually enforce it. We have a wonderful resource officer at our school full time, and he's awesome . Yes I will agree that the food is not gourmet, and its not that great, but its food, and I don't see how lunch can really play into choosing a school. But anyway I love this school and its awesome. I advise you to send your children here, you will not be disappointed!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 12, 2011

The people who give this school bad reviews clearly have no idea what they're talking about. Orono High School is a fantastic school and is part of a fantastic school system. The teachers are great and every single one cares about the student's education and wants to see them succeed in life after high school. As for people who attempt to say that their child might not get the best education at Orono, you get back what you put in. If the student doesn't try hard enough, obviously they aren't going to gain much knowledge. Orono high school has sent multiple students to Ivy League schools in the past years, including one student who was recently accepted to Cambridge. Clearly Orono offers a very good education for those who seek it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 11, 2011

I feel like this school (Orono High) Has no idea how to help there kids succeed in life, I know a girl who has medical problems, and the school will not work with her on trying to complete her high school education. They think she should be in school all the time, when her doctors are saying she can only go as tolerated. The principal is a JOKE! He acts like he knows everything thats going on, but really he doesn't. He makes the vice principal view everything. The principal will always listen to what you say. But when The girl went to him saying she needed some other sort of school education, he looked at her, and said.. "I think you can be in school the whole time, I think your mother is too easy on you, and my daughter just had hip surgery and she's back in college already." Yes his daughter might have had hip surgery. But different people have to have different operations. I know the girl that had the knee operation, and she's been having operations on her knees since the 5th grade. This is an on going medical problem. All Orono High School cares about is getting kids out of their hair ASAP. I advise you not to send your kid here, It will be a great waste of your time. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2010

Orono high school is amazing. When people say that it is a poor choice in a high school, it shows that they were not involved enough to get the full affect of the school. It has devoted staff that will go above and beyond for students. Some have been there 30+ years. Orono high school's student body is closely knit and 'cliques' rarely exist in this school. Orono high school is a great school choice.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 3, 2010

This school is a very poor choice in a high school. Most of the teachers really don't care about the students and the work is really easy. I've been to bangor high before, and let me tell you, if you've been there then Orono High school looks... beyond bad. The class choices are extremely limited, as are the extracurricular activities. The sports - bleh... not so fantastic. There are only 4 periods a day (8 periods every 2 days) and more than two thirds of the freshman classes are mandatory. So if you are both a musician and an artist, well sorry, you aren't going to like this school. I think the worst thing about this school is the lunch. Every time I got hot lunch, I felt sick to my stomach. It's very disgusting. Though lunch isn't really an important criteria in a good school, I had to mention it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 5, 2009

Moving around in the school is a little intense but other then that teachers, students and other faculty are amazing
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 17, 2005

My child has been to a number of school systems. Orono was the only school that actually taught her to help teach herself. The depth of her studies is amazing. It really prepared her for college. The extracurricular activities are set up in a way that she was able to participate in more then one at a time. The faculty is very supportive of all the students persuits. I found I was included more in her school life at Orono then in other school systems. I am very happy my daughter went there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2004

This school provides an excellent education for all students: stressing on the core studies instead of unecessary electives. Your child might not get a lot of choices like photography and cinema or basket weaving, but they will be well prepared for college and the future. The proof is in the number of graduates that have moved on to greater things than most of us thought possible.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 26, 2003

I don't believe my children get the best quality in this school. The staff is very selective and singles out people for different things, whether it good or bad. If your child plays a lot of sports and is good at them then your child will have no problem getting along with the staff. If not, and you want your child to get the one on one attention they deserve..I suggest another school.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Critical Reading

The state average for Critical Reading was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
55%
Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
41%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 43% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the Maine High School Assessment (MHSA) to test students in grade 11 in critical reading, math, writing and science. The results reported show how well students are mastering state standards, specific skills defined by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14 Goodridge Dr
Orono, ME 04473
Phone: (207) 866-4916

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT