Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Poland Regional High School

Public | 9-12

We are best known for attention to the individual.

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Extended programs

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 28, 2014

The principal was just chosen as Maine's secondary school Principal of the Year; the faculty are dedicated, intelligent, enthusiastic, and caring; the overall school culture is positive and geared toward helping kids learn and be challenged at whatever level they're at. Don't believe the trite and cowardly comments you read by negative posters below. Visit the school yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2013

My daughter is now in college and when I asked her if she was well prepared for college she said, "Very much so!" During her four years, she has had a largh smattering of teachers and most of them were "Top Notch." The progressive grading system may be different, but that does not make it inefective. Once colleges understand how it works, they are usually on board with it. I have to laugh at most of these other student and parent reviews giving this school at most one star. Education is much like anything in life: YOU GET OUT OF IT WHAT YOU PUT INTO IT! Teachers are not going to make you do the work if you do not want to, and if you choose to take the easy way out taking non challenging classes, perhaps college is a rude awakening. Students who are gifed are challenged and can even take classes at Bates College if they are up for it. I have two more students going through. Looking forward to the experience again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2013

A lot of cynicism on the part of teachers and administration. Some good teachers, but all are burdened by busy work handed down by the administration, mandatory laptops and so on. New teachers receive minimal mentoring. Former Superintendent and business manager embezzled huge amounts of money. The principal is equal parts despot and valley girl. In an area with such a wide range of poverty and affluence, homogeneous classrooms just don't work. Gifted kids are held back and struggling kids don't get what they need. Lots of teachers here are jaded and, frankly, don't care and those that do care are outnumbered. This is a regional school, so some unlucky kids have and hour and a half bus ride to get to this den of mediocrity by 7:15 am.


Posted April 8, 2013

Terrible, most of the teachers will only give you good grades if you participate in sports, if not, they'll fail you. All this school cares about is sports, so if you aren't into that stuff, welcome to the most hardest school in America. They expect great grades, half of the students fail all their classes, including me. I'm not letting my kids go here when i have to make the choice. If you're a parent trying to find where to send your kids, this should be your last choice.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 29, 2012

In all honesty the school has potential, there are school that are far worse off. The speech and debate team is absolutely wonderful, the sports teams not so much. As far as academics go It seems to me that less and less is offered every year and the teaching style just doesn't work for everyone. I've seen intelligent kids find adult ed to be a better option and that's just a little sad. I just hope the school keeps its promise to progress and doesn't stagnate in their non-pliable beliefs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 10, 2012

Because of my oldest's experience at PRHS, I am now a homeschooling parent!! I hate this school system!! They let my child go from 4th grade to 10th grade before finally getting some testing done that officially diagnosed her with a learning disability. I kept trying to get something done but nobody listened! She finally dropped out at 17 and got her diploma through Adult Education. I WILL be homeschooling my other 2 little ones!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2012

I am a student here at Poland, and I'm not very impressed with the way the system is, please save yourselves the trouble. Do not send your kids here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 27, 2010

A step above most high schools in the area. My daughter was well- prepared for college & currently doing well at a major university. Teachers she encountered at PRHS were competent and caring. AP & roundable classes were beneficial.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2010

Poland Regional High School does not have very many good teachers and the administration does not get anything done. Teachers fly by the seat of their pants and are never prepared for the class they are teaching. They "wing it" most days with no organized classwork or homework. When I asked my son's teacher how I would know what they were doing in class and about assignments, she said that it would all be on their new online system by class. Well, she was right - there was information there- just information from September and this was the 2nd semester. I couldn't find any of my son's classes with current information.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2010

I have had two children graduate from PRHS, the first in 2008 and the next in 2010. I am preparing to send my last child to PRHS and am not looking forward to the next four years. The grading system is flawed and has been since day one; when a parent complains about it they are informed that it takes a while to understand it. PRHS does not prepare students well for life after high school. This being said by my junior in college who felt he wasn't ready for college life and his teachers should have prepared him better. As for their Sports Done Right program I find this laughable; bench kids to win at all costs and yes it has happened I have witnessed it first hand on the baseball field and it wasn't my athlete that was sitting on the bench.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2010

People complain about the PRHS Athletics, but it is not the students fault. The PRHS athletic director Don King is whats wrong with the program. If you take a look in Kings past, he single handedly ruined the entire sports program at Lewiston High School. This is what he is doing at Poland too. He gets rid of coaches that want to win and replaces them with coaches that are passive so he can manipulate them to make things go his way. He also plays favorites with his coaching selections. For example he replaced the baseball coach with himself. He replaced the Jv basketball coach with his best friend and he tries to be best friends with coaches so his son can play a lot. I know of many people with better talent and attitudes that were benched so Don Kings son could play. This needs to STOP!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 15, 2010

The grading system does not make any sense what so ever. You grade the kids based on a 1-4 scale that includes a HOW grade for their habits of work in each subject. My child's academically not doing well but gets honors due to her HOW grades always being high. How can a child get 22 wrong out of 99 and be scored the highest possible at a 4? She only knew 78% of the information, that to me does not demonstrate a DISTINGUISHED knowledge of the subject. I understand a HOW grade but maybe put it separately on the report card and make it one HOW grade for all the classes combined. Each class grade should be just based on the work they turn in and scores so we get a true feel for what they know in each subject.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2010

I think this school is one of thw worst in the state. As a student before I came to this school, I was doing very well academically. When I came here in 7th grade, the grading system was messed up and confusing. My grades have dropped a lot and now being a freshman, they have not changed and might have possibly gone up a little. Don't get me wrong, there are some great teachers, but some of them just have to go. Another thing thats messed up with this school is the sport..don't even get me started on the sports. I don't think girls basketball has ever one more than 2 games a season. However, they have about 3 different coaches in the past 5 years. I think their coach now will take them places..
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 5, 2009

I graduated from this school in 2008, and could not be more disappointed with the four years that I spent in this institution. A majority of the teachers are wonderful, and will go out of their way to help students succeed. When it comes to the college admissions process however, this school is less than helpful to graduating seniors. The fact that there is 'no such thing' as class rank eliminates the possibility for many scholarships and does not inform the student of the caliber of schools they should be applying to. As I mentioned before, the faculty is simply wonderful. The failing point of this school is the administration (or lack thereof). In the past five years there have been three principals, and soon to be another. In addition to the problems with infrastructure and leadership, the student body is growing and the facilities and budget simply cannot handle it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 17, 2009

I could not agree with this student more. As a parent my child has experienced the exact same situation and has requested 'required' courses for the last 3 years only to be told that every thing she needs is full and there's nothing they can do to change the way the scheduling system works(remind you of graduation day scheduling conflicts) In the process of putting every student off till the next year they have created a gigantic bottle neck situation for seniors, esp since not every course is taught every year. Call the school board!!!!Go to board meetings. More parents need to help their children fight this kids must self advocate mentality!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2009

This Schools Is beyond horrible. Im a student and I feel ashamed to go here. All they care about is sports. Im getting ready to drop out because there is not enough room in next year scedual to fit all my class so they said i would not march with my class. My parent would rather see me in adult ed then go to this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 4, 2009

I'm a student right now and the sports programs need to go in a other direction Don the AD isn't into winning all he cares about is keeping a high budget and his fields all pretty up. Although the football program in 2009 will be something to look out for theirs a great chance at posting a 6-3 record and making the playoffs for the first time in Poland history
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 22, 2008

My son did very well at PRHS. The teachers were enthusiastic and compassionate.. The progressive nature of the school encourages diversity, which is essential in a positive learning environment. He was very prepared for college and will be graduating in May.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2008

In response to 3/6/08 posting regarding athletics. I think many schools in the state are part of Sports Done Right. I'm not sure that I totally agree with it but understand what they are trying to do. I think you will always find in every community that there will be parents pressuring for their own to play. Lets not forget the baseball team in 2007 and Coach Jordan's wonderful award. The girls soccer team this year did win games and had a playoff game against Falmouth. They also learned alot from their coaches. The cheerleaders this year won 1: Western B confrences, 2: Class B regionals 3: and CLASS B STATE CHAMPIONS. In regards to the curriculum. I have a 2nd child going to this school. The classes are getting better. Many of the students that I know that did not fare well in college had more to do with themselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2008

I graduated from this school in 2007. All I can say is that is one of the worst public schools in Maine. I don't understand how a school administration would allow such a poor curriculum that does not prepare students enough for college education. Also I believe the sports program is considered THE worst in Maine. The philosophy of the Athletic director is to not win.. but to give playing time to everyone. Isn't a sport a competiton where the only objective is to win??? At PRHS, it is all about parent pressure on coaches to get their kid to play, its not about talent. Looking at the past couple of years, the majority of the sports in this school posted losing seasons with one or two wins. At PRHS, they consider that success.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Critical Reading

The state average for Critical Reading was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
43%
Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
34%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 43% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the Maine High School Assessment (MHSA) to test students in grade 11 in critical reading, math, writing and science. The results reported show how well students are mastering state standards, specific skills defined by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Whittier Middle School
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Multiple disabilities

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Cari Medd
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Is there an application process?
  • No

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Multiple disabilities

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
More from this school
  • We provide every student with a laptop computer.
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
High school


Finding the right school

 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Maine schools
Central Maine Community College
College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
College prep programs/courses during the year
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1457 Maine St
Poland, ME 04274
Website: Click here
Phone: (207) 998-5400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Hebron Academy
Hebron, ME




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT