Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Deering High School 5

Posted September 16, 2013
- a student
It's awesome school And we learn a lot of things in this school If you are new in USA you should to come to deering HS you well learned english fast with us !

Deering High School 4

Posted February 13, 2009
- a student
I'm a junior at Deering currently and i think it is a great school. The teachers are great, classes are challenging enough and we have great school spirit. By just doing your homework,not skipping class and paying attention you'll do just fine and find yourselves ready for college.


Deering High School 1

Posted January 05, 2009
- a parent
Classes and grades are too easy. Students do not get challenged, get good grades, then struggle in college.

Deering High School 4

Posted March 02, 2008
- a student
Deering is a really good school. I will agree with many others before me, Deering is pretty much impossible to fail unless a)you never do any assaignments or b)you never go to school. The school is what you put into it. It you really want an education, you can totally get a top-notched one. If you just want a diploma- that's available, too. A lot of the teachers really care about the kids. I feel that Deering has been a great school for my classmates and me. My friends at other school really hate school, but almost everyone I go to DHS with says they think it's totally fine. I feel very fortunate to enjoy my high school.

Deering High School 1

Posted January 16, 2008
- a student
The curriculum there is way too easy, and colleges know this. Don't expect to have a high rank at deering taken very highly by many institutions. The classes are easy and unchallenging and offer little in the way of accelerated programs.


Deering High School 5

Posted December 10, 2007
- a parent
My son transfered this year to Deering and I can't say enough good about this school. It is a large school, but he teachers are awesome and generally care about the students.

Deering High School 5

Posted August 20, 2006
- a student
I graduated in 2004 and I have to say that Deering was a great place to go to school. Even when going through rough times, I always felt I could talk with any of my teachers and come up with a plan. Music and Drama are big at Deering, but they also have a lot of sports as well. Overall its just a really nice atmosphere and I'll always remember the fun I had and the things I learned!

Deering High School 4

Posted July 28, 2005
- a student
I just graduated from deering this year (2005); I loved it. the only way not to do well is to not try - the teachers are always available for help, all you have to do is ask. you get out of it what you put into it; deering's not the place for you if you need someone to hold your hand through everything or if you want to do the bare minimum just to graduate. I had a wonderful experience at deering and would recommend it to every self-motivated high school student.


Deering High School 5

Posted April 16, 2005
- a student
Guys, what's up with the use of the word 'horrid.' I go to deering and the only way you can flunk is if you dont try! Deering is a great school, tons of after school programs and a wide varity of teachers. Most of the kids there are great and fun do get along with, although there are some bad seeds. If you want to learn and have great experiances, I tell you to go there. If you just want to get school over with, go to gorham or something!

Deering High School 5

Posted November 10, 2004
- a student
I west to deering high. I hated it. I was told I wasnt going to graduate. So they told me not to come back. I have learning disabilities and they wernt willing to help. I do much better at night school getting my deploma.

Nearby schools

Deering High School
370 Stevens Ave, Portland, ME  04103
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (207) 874-8260
Last modified Deering High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top