Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Howard C Reiche Community School

Public | K-5 | 339 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 6, 2014

The teachers and staff are truly dedicated to making this a community school. My two children attend this school and I feel we are really a part of the Reiche family. The staff is always accessible to discuss ideas and/or address any concerns. It is empowering to have a respected voice in my children's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2012

We have had a tremendous experience at Reiche School. Two of our three children attend and our third will be enrolled next year. My school aged children are very different learners and each of their needs have been met. I feel that the teaching staff listens and I am awed by their performance on a day to day basis given the complexity of the student body. I feel that there is a strong bond between teachers, staff, parents, and guardians which sets a tremendous example to the children of this school. Our diversity binds us as a community and there is a strong commitment to have all of the children at Reiche succeed as passionate learners and compassionate young adults. We feel very lucky to be a part of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2012

love the diversity, but my son fell through the cracks at this school... too much emphasis on ESL/
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2011

All three of my children have attended Reiche. This school is not just where my children go during the day, it is a part of our lives. The spirit and energy that the teachers and staff bring to Reiche is amazing. I have one child with a learning disability, the extra services and attention that are provided are outstanding. If you are a parent that likes being active within your child's school, Reiche will embrace you warmly
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

I love Reiche school because i feel it is the most diversified school in portland. I feel it deserves more credit for what the school does for its students and staff. I had gone there and my 2 older children have been there and my youngest will go there. I would recommend reiche to any family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Due to the recent rise in immigration here, Reiche School in Portland, Maine has an incredibly diverse student body. This school is one big melting pot, with truly dedicated teachers, aides, support staff, volunteers, etc.


Posted February 13, 2006

We have had a great experience at Reiche so far. My son, who is in first grade, loves school and is excelling academically, socially and emotionally. My husband and I find that the atmosphere is charged and exciting and the teachers are excellent and highly motivated. We can't imagine sending him to another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2004

On the whole, the teachers seem like they will die if they have to teach for another minute. There are a few teachers, however, who really seem to enjoy teaching and enjoy the children they teach. While the curriculum is probably geared to educate all of the children, I have noticed that (at least my child's teachers) will give extra help to those who need it and give extra work to those who excel. I have some concerns about the safety in general at the school. I see a lot of children being pushed and picked on daily, and a lot of times the teachers just continue their conversations rather than help. The cleaning/maintenance staff needs to do a better job cleaning up broken glass around the campus. I think the diversity is great at Reiche and am very happy that my daughter has the opportunity to have friends outside our own culture. My daughter really likes Reiche which is probably the only reason she's staying there. I think the biggest improvements need to be made in teacher attitude and quality, safety of the children, and respect for peers and adults by the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2004

My daughter began Kindergarten here in 2003 and we have been very impressed with the school, its atmosphere and quality of its teachers. The school is diverse -- children come from many income levels and many ethnic groups -- and the staff has developed an amazing atmosphere of respect and appreciation for those differences. The result is a lively, accepting and creative atmosphere. While no school is perfect, Reiche represents all the good aspects of what public education can be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2004

My child is in grade K at Reiche. I have found that the school is overcrowded and really isn't that interested in my child's well being. At the beginning of the year, he was moved from a classroom that I really liked without my consent and against my wishes. I am looking for other school options for 1st grade. I do not feel valued as a parent at Reiche. Many of the families at Reiche are low income or socially marginalized in some other way. I feel that my child has taken a backseat to the few children whose familys do not fall into a socially marginalized category. At this point, I feel it was a mistake to send my child there and we are surviving the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 45% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
29%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 70% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the Maine Educational Assessment (MEA) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MEA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 42% 2%
White 42% 92%
Asian 7% 1%
Hispanic 7% 1%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 73%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

166 Brackett St
Portland, ME 04102
Phone: (207) 874-8175

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Waynflete School
Portland, ME


East School
Portland, ME



Cathedral School
Portland, ME



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT