Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Howard C Reiche Community School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a community member
I have been a guest teacher at Portland Schools, K-5 for over 2 years. I rate Reiche #1. Team Leaders, Teachers, and all Staff are dedicated and passionate professionals. The students are engaged in learning and altogether help to build a wonderful community!

Howard C Reiche Community School 5

Posted January 06, 2014
- a parent
The teachers and staff are truly dedicated to making this a community school. My two children attend this school and I feel we are really a part of the Reiche family. The staff is always accessible to discuss ideas and/or address any concerns. It is empowering to have a respected voice in my children's education.


Howard C Reiche Community School 5

Posted December 29, 2012
- a parent
We have had a tremendous experience at Reiche School. Two of our three children attend and our third will be enrolled next year. My school aged children are very different learners and each of their needs have been met. I feel that the teaching staff listens and I am awed by their performance on a day to day basis given the complexity of the student body. I feel that there is a strong bond between teachers, staff, parents, and guardians which sets a tremendous example to the children of this school. Our diversity binds us as a community and there is a strong commitment to have all of the children at Reiche succeed as passionate learners and compassionate young adults. We feel very lucky to be a part of this school.

Howard C Reiche Community School 2

Posted June 12, 2012
- a parent
love the diversity, but my son fell through the cracks at this school... too much emphasis on ESL/

Howard C Reiche Community School 5

Posted April 07, 2011
- a parent
All three of my children have attended Reiche. This school is not just where my children go during the day, it is a part of our lives. The spirit and energy that the teachers and staff bring to Reiche is amazing. I have one child with a learning disability, the extra services and attention that are provided are outstanding. If you are a parent that likes being active within your child's school, Reiche will embrace you warmly


Howard C Reiche Community School
no rating

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
I love Reiche school because i feel it is the most diversified school in portland. I feel it deserves more credit for what the school does for its students and staff. I had gone there and my 2 older children have been there and my youngest will go there. I would recommend reiche to any family.

Howard C Reiche Community School
no rating

Posted April 24, 2010
- a community member
Due to the recent rise in immigration here, Reiche School in Portland, Maine has an incredibly diverse student body. This school is one big melting pot, with truly dedicated teachers, aides, support staff, volunteers, etc.

Howard C Reiche Community School 5

Posted February 13, 2006
- a parent
We have had a great experience at Reiche so far. My son, who is in first grade, loves school and is excelling academically, socially and emotionally. My husband and I find that the atmosphere is charged and exciting and the teachers are excellent and highly motivated. We can't imagine sending him to another school.


Howard C Reiche Community School 3

Posted June 08, 2004
- a parent
On the whole, the teachers seem like they will die if they have to teach for another minute. There are a few teachers, however, who really seem to enjoy teaching and enjoy the children they teach. While the curriculum is probably geared to educate all of the children, I have noticed that (at least my child's teachers) will give extra help to those who need it and give extra work to those who excel. I have some concerns about the safety in general at the school. I see a lot of children being pushed and picked on daily, and a lot of times the teachers just continue their conversations rather than help. The cleaning/maintenance staff needs to do a better job cleaning up broken glass around the campus. I think the diversity is great at Reiche and am very happy that my daughter has the opportunity to have friends outside our own culture. My daughter really likes Reiche which is probably the only reason she's staying there. I think the biggest improvements need to be made in teacher attitude and quality, safety of the children, and respect for peers and adults by the children.

Howard C Reiche Community School 5

Posted March 15, 2004
- a parent
My daughter began Kindergarten here in 2003 and we have been very impressed with the school, its atmosphere and quality of its teachers. The school is diverse -- children come from many income levels and many ethnic groups -- and the staff has developed an amazing atmosphere of respect and appreciation for those differences. The result is a lively, accepting and creative atmosphere. While no school is perfect, Reiche represents all the good aspects of what public education can be.

Nearby schools

Howard C Reiche Community School
166 Brackett St, Portland, ME  04102
(207) 874-8175
Last modified Howard C Reiche Community School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top