Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

King Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 548 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 14, 2012

This school has been wonderful for my daughter! The teachers really care about the students' academic progress and their growth as individuals and community members. A+!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

king middle school is great for ebitionary learning! a student at king middle school
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 19, 2010

I attend King, and I love it. I think expeditionary learning is the best way to learn because everybody really gets involved and cares about what they are doing. We are learning about things that are relevant today, not just what a bunch of dead guys thought of. For example, in one expedition, Riverworks, we learned about the Presumpscot River and it's history, how to canoe, how to test water for D.O., pH, temperature, and E. coli bacteria. We learned how to write a speech and make scatter plots. We made a PowerPoint showing what we had done, and in the end, we actually canoed the Presumpscot River and tested the water. We then had a culminating event at which every student spoke about the expedition in some way or another. We learned about things that mattered and were pertinent, and we still are doing so. Thank you King Middle School!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 3, 2008

I am so pleased with the wonderful teachers at this school. My child simply loves it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2008

Do I wish public schools were more rigorous? Yes! But my 6th grader is working on his writing, diagramming sentences and being held accountable. Whenever I am at the school, I hear teachers and staff talking about what is right about kids and how to bring out the best in them. The principal is positive and supportive of his teachers and staff. My kid is thriving and so are all the kids I know who go there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2007

Most teachers are quite good, however there are still many cantankerous teachers. Not too flabby. Expeditionary Learning is quite fun. It is a great school overall, though in some individual areas, it is flabby.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2005

Very poor quality academics. Much group learning. Very squishy, alot of babble and no rigor. Pretends to like parent involvement, but is not earnest about it. Remarkable decline in last 10 years. Poor access to art & music. Good drama and sports. Relies heavily on 'Expeditionary Learning' (Outward Bound based). Much political correctness, but little attention to 3Rs. Kids can skate. Really a very phone environment, and kids know it. Cynical, because many immigrant parents can't see how much their kids are missing.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

179 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

179 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

180 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

176 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 70% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the Maine Educational Assessment (MEA) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MEA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 92%
Black 24% 2%
Asian 11% 1%
Hispanic 6% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 56%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

92 Deering Ave
Portland, ME 04102
Phone: (207) 874-8140

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Waynflete School
Portland, ME




East School
Portland, ME


Cathedral School
Portland, ME



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT