Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


King Middle School 5

Posted June 14, 2012
- a parent
This school has been wonderful for my daughter! The teachers really care about the students' academic progress and their growth as individuals and community members. A+!!!

King Middle School 5

Posted April 13, 2010
- a student
king middle school is great for ebitionary learning! a student at king middle school


King Middle School 5

Posted March 19, 2010
- a student
I attend King, and I love it. I think expeditionary learning is the best way to learn because everybody really gets involved and cares about what they are doing. We are learning about things that are relevant today, not just what a bunch of dead guys thought of. For example, in one expedition, Riverworks, we learned about the Presumpscot River and it's history, how to canoe, how to test water for D.O., pH, temperature, and E. coli bacteria. We learned how to write a speech and make scatter plots. We made a PowerPoint showing what we had done, and in the end, we actually canoed the Presumpscot River and tested the water. We then had a culminating event at which every student spoke about the expedition in some way or another. We learned about things that mattered and were pertinent, and we still are doing so. Thank you King Middle School!

King Middle School 5

Posted November 18, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

King Middle School 5

Posted November 13, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


King Middle School 5

Posted April 03, 2008
- a parent
I am so pleased with the wonderful teachers at this school. My child simply loves it!

King Middle School 5

Posted January 28, 2008
- a parent
Do I wish public schools were more rigorous? Yes! But my 6th grader is working on his writing, diagramming sentences and being held accountable. Whenever I am at the school, I hear teachers and staff talking about what is right about kids and how to bring out the best in them. The principal is positive and supportive of his teachers and staff. My kid is thriving and so are all the kids I know who go there.

King Middle School 1

Posted November 09, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


King Middle School 1

Posted October 17, 2007
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

King Middle School 4

Posted January 23, 2007
- a parent
Most teachers are quite good, however there are still many cantankerous teachers. Not too flabby. Expeditionary Learning is quite fun. It is a great school overall, though in some individual areas, it is flabby.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

King Middle School
92 Deering Ave, Portland, ME  04102
(207) 874-8140
Last modified King Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
King Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top