Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Longfellow School-Portland

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 14, 2013

awesome community support through fund raising and involved pto. amazing learning garden. disconnect with school administration (principal) / parents & students. large class sizes take away from one on one instruction. no cafeteria on grounds. school grounds not well cared for, lots of trash outside building, and in children's play areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2013

Longfellow has good test scores, however, it is a school that "teaches to the test," at the expense of promoting critical thinking abilities in children. Additionally, it has an incredibly homogenous student body. There is almost no ethnic diversity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

Great staff (many long-term), smallish classes, diversity of students, very parent-friendly.


Posted October 22, 2009

I love Longfellow because my nephew is excited about going to school. I am amazed at how much he has learned since starting kindergarten and I love to see how proud he is to share what's he has learned.


Posted October 21, 2009

The staff/ teachers are great. The school has a wonderful atmosphere for all grades.My Grandsons classroom is phenomenal the way his teacher has it decorated. A very warm and educating class room in every respect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

Speaking as an educator, Longfellow has the most involved parents I have ever experienced. This has a tremendous impact on student learning and achievement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

I have had three children go through Longfellow Elementary. My youngest is in his last year. It has consistently been a place of great teaching and great community involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

I see how quickly my child is learning and am quite impressed with Longfellow School
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

Longfellow rocks the house. My children love it, learn lots, the staff and teachers are aces. Best of all is the great collaboration of the PTO. There is no better school in the Portland School district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

I love Longfellow School because its poetry garden and the since of community I feel there. My daughter is in kindergarden and is really thriving
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

Longfellow has highly professional, caring and committed teachers, and staff. we have a principal who puts students first, and supports staff as professionals, and as people. we have a parent population that works extremely hard to fill gaps left by a district lacking financial resources. we are in a great old building on the avenue of education. we are all about helping children discover that school and learning are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

In an era of building sterile consolidated schools in the greenfields, Longfellow is a shining example of a neighborhood school that is truly integrated into the community. It is also extremely accessible to walkers/bikers as most of the school's population is within walking distance and the school is surrounded by a comprehensive sidewalk network.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

Great neighborhood school! Teachers are talented and keep learning interesting. Kids get great opportunities for field trips to the planetarium, theater, symphony, and local parks. Very active Parent Teacher Organization.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

Outstanding principal, educators, support staff, parent involvement, and values.


Posted January 22, 2009

This small community school offers an exceptional education, a warm and homey setting, an amazingly sharp and creative faculty and administration, and rich programming to rival many private institutions. Transitioning my 2 children (grades 1 and 4) into this setting from a private school was seamless...not too mention Longfellow is an upgrade from their prior school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2008

Longfellow school is a friendly school. It is a very safe and educational school. I want my kids to go there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 28, 2005

This is a terrific school, I have two children who are attending currently. There are lots of extracurricular activities, including field trips fueled by the PTO's fund-raising activities. Parents are encouraged to participate in the younger classrooms and their feedback is taken seriously. Great staff, parents, and children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2004

Longfellow has a nurturing environment along with superior teachers,administration,learning support staff as well as a comprehensive curriculum with learning standards to encourages students to aim high. The PTA does a great deal of fundraising each year to assure that all students get year-long arts enrichment activities, educational resources, and family-friendly evening activities. Parents are respected stakeholders in decision-making about school change. The administration,teachers, and staff provide frequent and on-going communication with parents. It is one of the 10 best schools in Maine. It offers far more than any independent elementary school in Portland can offer for no where near the price tag!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 45% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 70% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the Maine Educational Assessment (MEA) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MEA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 92%
Hispanic 4% 2%
Two or more races 4% 1%
Black 3% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 1%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

432 Stevens Ave
Portland, ME 04103
Phone: (207) 874-8195

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Brigid School
Portland, ME


Levey Day School
Portland, ME


Breakwater School
Portland, ME


Fred P Hall School
Portland, ME




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT