Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Portland High School

Public | 9-12 | 929 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 14, 2014

Portland High School is a beautiful school, really niche architecturally, set in the heart of downtown Portland Maine. It is culturally rich, diverse, and they give a lot to the community. Our kids were very well prepared for college when they graduated! Thanks PPHS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2010

As an alumni, I found PHS during my time there very diverse and prides itself on the diversity found among the students. Where else do you have the option of more than 6 languages to study. I also find that the faculty does care and deals with truancy seriously. The comment from June 16 is very incorrect, as I know from experience that the school will call (several times) if you are absent, however, the faculty and staff expects full parental/guardian involvement in the students activities and academics.


Posted June 16, 2010

I'm not impressed with the way things are run at the Portland High School. My son, soon 17, goes there. He doesn't go to School everyday & when he does go he doesn't go to all his classes & the staff there don't care. The only way I find out that something is wrong is when I call the School or go there personally. Or when my son breaks something in the School then they call me. Other than that, they don't care. They don't even have Truant Officers looking out for kids who are running the streets during School hours. I went to Schools in New York City. Schools in N.Y would call the parents every time their child isn't in School or if they were picked up by Truant Officers. I wouldn't recommend this School to anybody. Sorry.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2010

I believe that all aspects of the school are outstanding. It is safe, diverse, respectful and challenging, with a wide variety of offerings, excellent teachers and fine leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

My son transfered to Portland High School from a private school and he/love it. He is now a junior and is receiving a great education and part of a wonderful and diverse community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2009

I attended Portland High School in from 2000-2005. I recently graduated from the University of Vermont, and I have to say, the English teachers at Portland High school are some of the best in the nation. I received my degree in English, and thanks to a few incredible teachers at Portland, my four years at UVM were a breeze. I owe Portland a huge thanks!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2009

We are the most diverse school in Portland, as well as one of the most welcoming towards people of all faiths, backgrounds, and ethnicities. I am truly proud of my high school- the quality of learning is exceptional, and the student body is so rich with cultures.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 31, 2009

Outstanding school. It has a pioneering program working with the Governor Baxter School for the Deaf. My child has gotten the support she needs to succeed as a deaf adult because of the wonderful teachers she has had as well as interpreters. Top notch program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

A great diverse school offering quality education in an urban setting....my son thrived here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2008

I think it is an excellent school. My daughter will leave with a great experience, as well as several college credits. She has been accepted to several top schools. It has been a great school all around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2008

Both my children have greatly enjoyed their school. They are challenged at the right level and supported by the adults there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2008

Although it gets a bad rap, Portland High is the best public highschool in Portland, if not in Maine. It's diversity and quality of its education are unsurpassed by any other school. Colleges recognize the neccesity for students to come from a diverse and academically challenging environment. Both of these PHS provides.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 2, 2006

great school, i am currently a student at portland high school and have surprising experienced both the deering and portland atmosphere. There is a great pride for the school and everyone is respected, already adding to the great staff, education, and school clubs/activities.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Critical Reading

The state average for Critical Reading was 49% in 2013.

230 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
40%
Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

232 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
29%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2013.

216 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
29%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 43% in 2013.

231 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
38%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the Maine High School Assessment (MHSA) to test students in grade 11 in critical reading, math, writing and science. The results reported show how well students are mastering state standards, specific skills defined by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 92%
Black 26% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 2%
Hispanic 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

284 Cumberland Ave
Portland, ME 04101
Phone: (207) 874-8250

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Waynflete School
Portland, ME




Spurwink School--S Portland
South Portland, ME



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT