Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cheverus High School 3

Posted May 24, 2013
- a parent
Cheverus High School Is a generally welcoming environment. Students can feel safe, and free to be individuals. The downside is that if a student has any kind of challenges with learning, they will most certainly slip through the cracks. It is a struggle to get administration to agree to even the most modest of accommodations for students. There is a misconception that doing so will somehow threaten academic integrity. The teachers are for the most part open to assisting students, but it is limited. The expectation is for students to be able to work very independently. If a student fits into an academic box, they will manage well at Cheverus.

Cheverus High School 5

Posted May 14, 2013
- a parent
Cheverus has provided me with the opportunity to grow intellectually and spiritually. We have a demanding work load, usually about 2-3 hours of homework a night. The lowest level of class is College Prep, so if you are not an Honors/AP level student, you will still be challenged. The teachers are excellent and accessible - they want all of their students to succeed. The college placement rate is in the high 90s in terms of percent. Those who do not enroll in college almost always enlist in the military. When alums come back and share their college experiences, they always say that they were way more prepared than their peers. One has unlimited chances to get involved in the community. The Key Club sponsors a Thanksgiving Food Drive that feeds around 650 families in the Greater Portland area. CHS is a safe school, and in regard to illegal substances, they are present. I would say that it is less severe than the drug/alcohol abuse at public schools. CHS has zero tolerance for that kind of behavior, and if they are aware of the situation, the student will be expelled. I am proud to be a Cheverian, and I am thankful for all of the opportunities that CHS has provided to me.


Cheverus High School 5

Posted May 14, 2012
- a community member
Strong academics and the option to explore spirituality. Tight close knit community on campus and then with alumni across the US as well.

Cheverus High School 2

Posted November 27, 2011
- a parent
I was very unhappy with the school in general. One thing that uninterested me was the amount of illegal substances that the students were getting into. In addition to the fact most of the teachers at Cheverus High seemed to be a little less understanding, knowledgeable, and personable than other school I have put my children through. I sent my son to Cheverus up until mid Junior year, we were unsatisfied with the school as a whole, especially with paying for my sons enrollment.

Cheverus High School 5

Posted September 29, 2011
- a student
Cheverus is a great school for anyone ready for a true challenge. Cheverus offers a true classical education. In English class we read the classics; Shakespeare, Poe, Salinger, Orwell, and Oedipus the King Homer, T.S. Eliot, and Hemingway. In Theology class we not only read the bible but also wrtitings such as "Platos Republic" and "The Fall" by Camus. The history department is full of great teachers that are passionate about the subject they teach. This school is academically demanding and lacks accommodations for students with learning dissabilities. If your child lacks motivation or interest in their education please don't send them to Cheverus. If your child takes school seriously Cheverus I a perfect fit.


Cheverus High School 5

Posted January 22, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Cheverus High School 5

Posted September 03, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Cheverus High School 5

Posted March 15, 2009
- a student
Cheverus High School was a great experience for me and prepares you for college as well as any school in Maine. There are Cheverus graduates every year that go to some of the best colleges in the country. The teaching prepares students for college extremely well and is a much stronger school than the surrounding public school systems. The student body is compromised of students more serious about their education.


Cheverus High School 3

Posted January 16, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Cheverus High School 5

Posted December 28, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cheverus High School
267 Ocean Avenue, Portland, ME  04103
(207) 774-6238
Last modified Cheverus High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Cheverus High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews.