Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Breakwater School

Private | PK-8 | 150 students

Our integrated, challenging, and authentic curriculum

 
 

Living in Portland

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $215,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $910.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 16, 2014

Breakwater School is awesome! It's great for individual attention to each student. The programs are creative and vast! We love Breakwater!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2010

Our son has been at Breakwater for two years and we have found the staff and program to be outstanding. It sometimes amazes me that a place that he finds to be so fun, with activities that are so creative, still manages to fully incorporate the skills and lessons that he needs to cover. we are very happy with the experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2010

Our two sons have been at Breakwater School for many years and they have found the academic environment challenging and inspiring. The faculty and staff at the school are fantastic and caring. Also, the afternoon extracurricular programs are engaging, innovative and fun. Breakwater is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2010

Waste of money. Teachers are inexperienced. Staff is unprofessional. Campus is lacking in adequate space. No sports fields or programs. Our son was TOLD to leave the school because he was two years behind in reading and a year behind in mathematics (despite the fact that NO testing had been conducted, and they had NO proof of their allegations). After one year of public school he scored in the top 10% of students in the state for mathematics and now reads above his grade level. And this was all accomplished from a teacher that has 20 other students in her class. Clearly shows that Breakwater is incapable of providing quality education. Leaving that school and putting our kids into the Portland Public School system was nothing short of a blessing. I am not the only one that feel this way, they have a bad reputation, for good reason.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2010

We have had two children attend the school, and it was wonderful for both of them. They could be themselves, felt emotionally safe, loved their teachers, loved learning new things, and gained tremendous confidence in their ability to complete what was asked of them - particularly longer projects or papers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2010

I have been involved in the field of early education for 30 years, and, as both a teacher and a parent, have worked and observed in a multitude of schools. None have matched the excellence of Breakwater. It is an honor to work among such highly educated professionals who share a passion for assuring that each student has what he or she needs to be successful academically, socially and emotionally. The Breakwater parent community is vibrant and remarkable in its compassion, and dedication to children. I encourage parents looking for a progressive school, with inspired leadership, and teachers who will celebrate what is unique about their child, to visit Breakwater and see for yourself what makes me feel so lucky to teach here.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 4, 2009

Breakwater is FANTASTIC for parents AND kids! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2004

Our younger son is in Pre-K (Beginners) at Breakwater and he loves it. The teachers are really wonderful helping each child to explore themselves and their world in a safe and happy environment. Parents are very involved in all school activities. The whole atmosphere of the place is really positive. Both of our sons attend Breakwater and are thriving for it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2004

We love Breakwater, and it truly is a wonderful community of people who are closely involved in their child's education. Parental volunteering is encouraged, which is appreciated. My sons are thriving under the watchful and dedicated eyes of their highly proficient and engaged teachers. There are ongoing teacher workshops, and it is obvious that the staff loves what they do. I would recommend Breakwater to someone who is looking for a nurturing, smaller environment that doesn't compromise the love of learning. My sons are excelling here, and I feel that this school will prepare them for anything in their future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2004

Breakwater is a fanstastic, close knit community. Children interact with other classes. The level of learning and nurturing is impressive. You can feel the positive energy when you walk through the school gates. Families come from all over Southern Maine. Our daughter is a pre-schooler and loves everything about the school. I also understand they are particulary good at dealing with challenging children (although we haven't experienced this first hand.) Due to the education she has received as a pre-schooler, she is ahead of her friends attending other pre-schools (basically daycare). We have been thrilled with the school and hope to attend through grade 5.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 92%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
Black 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hispanic 0% 2%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Rock band
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • David Sullivan
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
  • http://breakwaterschool.org/contact.html
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Multi-aged
  • Project-based
  • Reggio Emilia
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Environmental
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Rock band
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$8000 - $20000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

856 Brighton Ave
Portland, ME 04102
Website: Click here
Phone: (207) 772-8689

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Fred P Hall School
Portland, ME




St Brigid School
Portland, ME



Riverton School
Portland, ME


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT