Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
150 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Breakwater School 5

Posted November 23, 2015
- a community member
It's a respectful, stimulating, whole person environment that teaches students to imagine and synthesize, to explore and evaluate, to take responsibility while relying on others.

Breakwater School 5

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
I considered homeschooling and now am totally convinced that my daughter is getting everything I could have given her at home AND MORE at Breakwater. She has individualized attention, a supportive group of peers, 100% equal emphasis on creativity, art, music, math, science, tinkering, etc. and I benefit from an amazing community of educators and parents as well. I am SO glad we found Breakwater and just wish it could go through high school!


Breakwater School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
As a business owner and an experienced worker, I know for a fact that the climate of a workplace starts with the top. David is an amazing visionary who lives and breathes education and yet never seems to be anything but enthusiastic about constant improvement. He has gathered an amazing group of coworkers who make up the Breakwater team.

Breakwater School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
They are not into large amounts of homework; it's really a choice rather than a requirement, and there's no grading until middle school.

Breakwater School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
GRIT - oh yes. Failure is accepted and learned from, not avoided. They don't sugar coat things or say "we're all winners" - instead, they teach you to try again.


Breakwater School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
There is STRONG effort made by the school to integrate boys and girls, and different age groups.

Breakwater School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are equally focused on academics and social skills. They're really like parents, as opposed to just working - they take the kids' development (at every level) seriously.

Breakwater School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 22, 2015
- a parent
I am overwhelmed with gratitude for many teachers...staff members......parents at Breakwater. I am blessed with the ability to be able to give my girls an amazing education experience. My girls and I were welcomed right from day 1. We were like family....and everyone there truly cares about everyone. I am gtratful to be part of an amazing community. Thank you Breakwater. You have given us so much!!!


Breakwater School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted November 22, 2015
- a community member
There is so much cooperation among the teachers and students. If someone has a difficult time, they all work together to assure success

Breakwater School 5

Posted November 22, 2015
- a community member
I come from out of town to visit my grandkids several times a year. I am always welcomed in the Breakwater Community and feel like a real part of their educational experience. The teachers are so compassionate and kind to the kids, and the kids are so well balanced in their lives. They learn about life and how to be a part of a community as well as their basics.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Breakwater School
856 Brighton Ave, Portland, ME  04102
(207) 772-8689
Last modified Breakwater School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Breakwater School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top