Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Breakwater School 5

Posted April 16, 2014
- a parent
Breakwater School is awesome! It's great for individual attention to each student. The programs are creative and vast! We love Breakwater!!

Breakwater School 5

Posted June 03, 2010
- a parent
Our son has been at Breakwater for two years and we have found the staff and program to be outstanding. It sometimes amazes me that a place that he finds to be so fun, with activities that are so creative, still manages to fully incorporate the skills and lessons that he needs to cover. we are very happy with the experience.


Breakwater School 5

Posted March 31, 2010
- a parent
Our two sons have been at Breakwater School for many years and they have found the academic environment challenging and inspiring. The faculty and staff at the school are fantastic and caring. Also, the afternoon extracurricular programs are engaging, innovative and fun. Breakwater is a great school!

Breakwater School 1

Posted March 27, 2010
- a parent
Waste of money. Teachers are inexperienced. Staff is unprofessional. Campus is lacking in adequate space. No sports fields or programs. Our son was TOLD to leave the school because he was two years behind in reading and a year behind in mathematics (despite the fact that NO testing had been conducted, and they had NO proof of their allegations). After one year of public school he scored in the top 10% of students in the state for mathematics and now reads above his grade level. And this was all accomplished from a teacher that has 20 other students in her class. Clearly shows that Breakwater is incapable of providing quality education. Leaving that school and putting our kids into the Portland Public School system was nothing short of a blessing. I am not the only one that feel this way, they have a bad reputation, for good reason.

Breakwater School 0
no rating

Posted February 11, 2010
- a parent
We have had two children attend the school, and it was wonderful for both of them. They could be themselves, felt emotionally safe, loved their teachers, loved learning new things, and gained tremendous confidence in their ability to complete what was asked of them - particularly longer projects or papers.


Breakwater School 5

Posted January 10, 2010
- a teacher
I have been involved in the field of early education for 30 years, and, as both a teacher and a parent, have worked and observed in a multitude of schools. None have matched the excellence of Breakwater. It is an honor to work among such highly educated professionals who share a passion for assuring that each student has what he or she needs to be successful academically, socially and emotionally. The Breakwater parent community is vibrant and remarkable in its compassion, and dedication to children. I encourage parents looking for a progressive school, with inspired leadership, and teachers who will celebrate what is unique about their child, to visit Breakwater and see for yourself what makes me feel so lucky to teach here.

Breakwater School 5

Posted April 04, 2009
- a parent
Breakwater is FANTASTIC for parents AND kids! :)

Breakwater School 5

Posted November 10, 2004
- a parent
Our younger son is in Pre-K (Beginners) at Breakwater and he loves it. The teachers are really wonderful helping each child to explore themselves and their world in a safe and happy environment. Parents are very involved in all school activities. The whole atmosphere of the place is really positive. Both of our sons attend Breakwater and are thriving for it.


Breakwater School 5

Posted September 24, 2004
- a parent
We love Breakwater, and it truly is a wonderful community of people who are closely involved in their child's education. Parental volunteering is encouraged, which is appreciated. My sons are thriving under the watchful and dedicated eyes of their highly proficient and engaged teachers. There are ongoing teacher workshops, and it is obvious that the staff loves what they do. I would recommend Breakwater to someone who is looking for a nurturing, smaller environment that doesn't compromise the love of learning. My sons are excelling here, and I feel that this school will prepare them for anything in their future.

Breakwater School 5

Posted May 06, 2004
- a parent
Breakwater is a fanstastic, close knit community. Children interact with other classes. The level of learning and nurturing is impressive. You can feel the positive energy when you walk through the school gates. Families come from all over Southern Maine. Our daughter is a pre-schooler and loves everything about the school. I also understand they are particulary good at dealing with challenging children (although we haven't experienced this first hand.) Due to the education she has received as a pre-schooler, she is ahead of her friends attending other pre-schools (basically daycare). We have been thrilled with the school and hope to attend through grade 5.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Breakwater School
856 Brighton Ave, Portland, ME  04102
(207) 772-8689
Last modified Breakwater School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Breakwater School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top