Advertisement
Advertisement

Cathedral School

Private | PK-8

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Portland

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $205,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 6, 2010

This is a wonderful small school with an incredible amount of diversity. They acknowledge and respect the many various cultures and languages represented within the walls of the school. My son receives the amount of attention and support that he needs to excel as a student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

They provide a well rounded education for the children and have fun activities as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

Family, friends, and community.....not just a books education but a loving and caring environment that nourishes each child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

Great school, caring family community - helps kids build a solid foundation in reading/writing/arithmetic, along with respect, responsibility and religion, too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

Terrific, dedicated teachers, great families, diverse population and wonderful location in downtown Portland.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

A great small class sized school; with dedicated teachers providing great moral and ethical education as well as high level of academic education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2008

Cathedral School is a wonderful school located in the heart of Portland. I am a Cathedral School Alumni and I very proud I was given the chance to attend this wonderful school.The principal is a wonderful woman who loves and cares for all her students. Her smile always brightened my day.There is no reason to fail at this school, because all the teachers are there for you to make sure you are doing your best. I love Cathedral School and hope this school lives on forever :]
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 20, 2007

I go to Cathedral School, and it is an ever-changing environment for creating well-rounded individuals. Every year there is another positive addition to the school. The teachers are friendly and try to make learning fun. I think if you want to send your child to a good Catholic School, Cathedral is the one for you!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 27, 2007

The academics at Cathedral are highly stressed by the excellent staff of teachers and all those who work at the school. The music program is thriving, the arts program is connected to The Maine College of Art and more after school activities are growing yearly. The school has a very active and caring Home and School Committee that is extremely concerned with working to make Cathedral a very well run,delightful and educational experience for students and their entire family. The principal, Sr. Theresa, is a very kind and caring woman with a lot of experience. She runs the school with respect for all her 'children'. The school has a lot of diversity that makes each student have a great appreciation for each others differences and broadens their learning experiences.It has been an excellent school for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14 Locust St
Portland, ME 04101
Phone: (207) 775-1491

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

East School
Portland, ME




King Middle School
Portland, ME




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT