Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Casco Bay High School

Public | 9-12 | 275 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 30, 2012

I was a student at CBHS, and I laughed at how relaxed and inefficient the school system was. Most of the kids I knew skipped class regularly, and rarely got reprimanded. Students would disrespect teachers left and right, and never got punished. In most of my classes, many kids wouldn't turn in homework, or turn it in many weeks late, but ended up getting the same grade as a hard working student who turned in the assignment on time. CBHS is a school for fun, and nothing more. It supposedly builds leadership and integrity, but all I saw was a bunch of teenage slackers getting away with it. Casco Bay High School did not prepare me for college, wherein the rules are much more strict, academically wise. I am sorry to say I regret going there completely.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 16, 2010

For the first time in his life, my son actually likes going to school at Casco Bay High School. The inventive, interactive and relevant learning approaches and the caring, attentive environment cannot be beat. The teachers and administrators know kids. They are the most passionate and hardest working professionals you'll find in the business.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2010

Casco Bay High School has been the best educational experience of my child's years in the Portland School District. The foundation of Expeditionary Learning's mission, Rigor-Relevance-Relationship, are taken seriously by every single member of the staff. This is the model for the future and it is producing educated students who believe that they can make a difference in the world. The graduates are recruited to top colleges, even though it's a new school. CBHS is the best choice for students who want school to relevant to their world and their future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Casco Bay High School is one of the most creative and nuturing high schools I have ever been involved with. The teachers, principal and staff have the ability to really get to know each student and bring out their strengths and develop their weakness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Casco Bay High School is an Expeditionary Learning Charter School here in Portland. Expeditionary Learning is a model for school reform that emphasizes high achievement through active learning, character growth and teamwork. Multiple studies have demonstrated that this model can significantly improve achievement, engage more students, increase student and parent participation and reduce the need to disciplinary action.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

My grandson went to thios school . This is a wonderful school and the teachers are great!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

Great school. Glad I made the switch. I feel as at times it isn't even school! It's just a good, positive learning environment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 16, 2008

I have two children at CBHS. If I had unlimited income and could send my children to any school in the world we'd stick with Casco Bay. My sons are getting an amazing education and developing a sense of how they fit in the world and how to be responsible citizens. I could not ask for more.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Critical Reading

The state average for Critical Reading was 49% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
34%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
49%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 43% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the Maine High School Assessment (MHSA) to test students in grade 11 in critical reading, math, writing and science. The results reported show how well students are mastering state standards, specific skills defined by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 92%
Black 19% 3%
Hispanic 5% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 3%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

196 Allen Ave
Portland, ME 04103
Phone: (207) 874-8160

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Spurwink Services
Portland, ME



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT