Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Saco Middle School 4

Posted March 07, 2011
- a community member
I go to SMS. I am in 8th grade almost 9th. I say this school is a great school. The staff is nice for the most part. Some teachers are a little strick, but hey if they were all nice then it would be called school right?

Saco Middle School 5

Posted December 09, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Saco Middle School 4

Posted December 02, 2008
- a parent
My daughter attends SMS and loves it. She's in the Gifted/Talented program, which I think is run very well. All teachers seem excited to be teaching. Administration seems to be supportive of kids and teachers. Good facility. Good athletic fields. Great access to student grades (even on daily homework) via computer.

Saco Middle School 5

Posted November 18, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Saco Middle School 1

Posted June 11, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Saco Middle School 0
no rating

Posted May 30, 2008
- a student
This school has very poor teaching techniques and does not give your child the help he/she needs. I recommend not to send your child there.

Saco Middle School 1

Posted April 15, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Saco Middle School 5

Posted January 23, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Saco Middle School 4

Posted August 25, 2005
- a parent
This school is great. My daughter loves the people and environment. When we moved to Saco, I was unsure about the schools. But know I regret thinking that.

Saco Middle School 3

Posted April 11, 2005
- a parent
The quality of the academic programs are mediocre with a few shining stars, but not reaching above average. The students are well engaged with many extracurriculars and more are enthusiastically added. A significant amount of $$ spent on special ed and the budget is continually lop-sided. The average student suffers and high-achievers are not rewarded. Most of the teachers do a fine job considering the class sizes. We have many options and programs for the 'struggling' student, but nothing to satisfy the 'above average' learner. I do not feel this community embraces the education of our children. There is a long-standing issue with the budget only covering K-8 before they head up to Thornton Academy's private school appropriations. This 'adult' problem inevitably trickles down to the students. How do we engage and motivate our kids when our parents, tax-payers, teachers and administrators can't see past their own bickering??

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Saco Middle School
40 Buxton Rd, Saco, ME  04072
(207) 282-4181
Last modified Saco Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8
Saco Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top