Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Scarborough Middle School 4

Posted October 20, 2013
- a community member
After moving to the town of Scarborough and going to SMS throughout my middleschool career, I can say with all my heart that I dreaded school there everyday. The community is just full of rich white kids who can't see a world beyond their $200 UGGs. The school has roughly 800 students but through out my years there, I only saw about 40 of them. The school is divided into multiple wings that you stay on for all 3 years. Because of this the school is completely segregated, and cut off from each other. The only way that a child could meet someone out of their wing would be if they did sports. If your not very sporty like I was though, your out of luck. The cafeteria food is ok, basic for what you find now of days. The only issue is that there is a huge unneccesary variety of junk foods such as icecreams, and potatoe chips. I remember kids buying both of these everyday. The only thing good about this school was that it made me realize how terrible it can be to grow up in a perfect home. You dont realize how important it is to see the world unless you visit a community such as this one.

Scarborough Middle School 5

Posted March 18, 2013
- a community member
I really enjoyed going to this school and the whole environment there is great. I wish I could come back to school there and meet my 6th and 7th grade again.


Scarborough Middle School 1

Posted February 28, 2013
- a community member
Scarborough Middle School *might* work for some people, but I find their system unsatisfactory. As a student in the top 1%, I have found what I feel is practically no flexibility in their curriculum, which is completely focused on memorizing facts. While the teachers are very good, I feel that the way the school has implemented the new curriculum has only served to detract from my education, and as I have practically hit their ceiling, while at the same time knowing people who are far ahead of me who have succeeded on only what the school provides, I find myself spending countless hours so that I could keep up to par with the rest of the world. Their mandatory specials are boring, and end up teaching very little. In fact, if I was not in GATES, I would see no reason to go here!

Scarborough Middle School 5

Posted October 23, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Scarborough Middle School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Scarborough Middle School provides a beautiful backdrop to a fantastc learning environment. It is broken up into smaller wingsthat give a sene of team and pride in school. The curriculum is challenging and accommodates mny learning styles and abilities.


Scarborough Middle School 5

Posted February 07, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Scarborough Middle School 4

Posted November 16, 2005
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Scarborough Middle School 5

Posted October 14, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Scarborough Middle School
21 Quentin Dr, Scarborough, ME  04074
(207) 730-4800
Last modified Scarborough Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Scarborough Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top