Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Berwick Academy

Private | K-12 | 572 students

Our School's mission is "to promote virtue and useful knowledge."
 
 

 
 

Living in South Berwick

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $241,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,130.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted December 13, 2012

As a school, Berwick always appreciates hearing feedback from parents. Berwick is a school that is doing incredible things, yet we are also a learning community committed to always growing and improving. So your comments help to affirm what we do well and think about what we need to be doing better.

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 17, 2014

I went here for freshman year and it was not a fond experience. Students are rude and stuck up. Very hard to mix in if you dont go from the middle school to high school. Teachers play favorites. School revolves around money and its reputation.


Posted September 26, 2013

My son graduated from BA several years ago. It was one of the best experiences of his life. An above average student, bored in public school, he truly found his calling at BA. From day one, he made new and lasting friendships, enjoyed playing sports and music and looks back at his experience at this school as the basis for his success. Yes, it is very expensive for an average family and we struggled with the costs, yet we would do it again. Our son now has both an undergraduate and graduate degree and is excelling in his profession. He truly could not have done it without the wonderful teachers and faculty who work day and night teaching, coaching and mentoring. Public school would in no way have prepared him for his chosen career. Please take a tour of the school, let your student take a tour without you, and you both need to ask lots of questions. You and your student will get out of it what you put into it. I am the proud mom of a BA Alumni.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2013

Parents, all I have to say is no matter how great you think this school is, it is not. Just because you get contacted by the teachers and are being invited to luncheons at the school, and just because you get a good impression from the faculty, doesn't mean at all that it's nearly as good as what it comes off to be. If you had to spend every day at Berwick as a student, only then would you come to see what this school is really like. It's really not great academically, the school costs way too much for the type of education it gives. It's not worth it, and the vast majority of kids end up going to some pretty bad colleges for people who've paid as much as they have for this private school. Their little program that helps kids get into college is pretty useless. Even if your public school is a pretty shabby one, I would choose it over Berwick any day.


Posted August 19, 2013

This school is definitely not what it advertises itself to be, and is not what parents think it is. The school overcharges for quality that is barely ahead of public schools. Is $35,000 per year really necessary for this type of school? Especially one that is so obsessed with athletics yet probably wouldn't care if their music/arts department was completely taken out. It's almost an impossibility for any kid to graduate this school and go into the arts or music. And the student who wrote the immature review below PERFECTLY demonstrates what Berwick turns kids into. Is calling everyone who disagrees with you a "fat butthole" really what this school teaches you to do? And also, does this school teach you to ignore all facts and make up your own? Because the snob (typical for Berwick) apparently thinks that every single person who goes through Berwick goes into Harvard while every Public school graduate goes to juve. In reality, about 1 or 2 kids go on to Harvard, while the rest of the kids tend to go to particularly sub-par colleges. And as an additional note, the teachers think it's a good idea to rant about terribly-misinformed and idiotic right wing politics to the kids.


Posted March 9, 2013

I have to say that if the student who wrote the following review truly is a student then the English department must be lacking. Review also clearly indicates snobbery at the school our child was accepted to. Not sure I want her in an environment like that. "Posted February 14, 2010 I completely love it here!!!! these people on the site are giving it low ratings. whoever the heck you are, I hate your guts. You haven't even been to the school let alone learn there. It is more than 50 times better thn any privite or public school. They do care about their faculty and their students. The only people they don't care about, are the fat old buttholes who have no life other than to sit at the computer and rate schools based on completley nothing. For pete's sake people.... get a life. This school pushes us and makes us learn from our mistakes. They challenge us and encourage safe risks. Public school fattys on the other hand take the easy side of life and end up in juvey or working minium wage at burger king. We'll be the ones who end up in Harvard. get the picture?! Submitted by a student"
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2013

I attended BA years ago and found it to be a "new money family's answer to PEA". A lot of the students were smart but not bright enough(or "old money enough" ) to attend Phillips Exeter and so their parents sent them here. That said, it was full of insufferable snobs. Academically, I found that the same classes were offered in my local high school. Why spend a king's ransom when you can get the same thing in your public school?


Posted October 31, 2012

What they say is NOT what you get. Don't waste your money. The school plays favorites.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2012

This school is my life. I graduated last year and I couldn't even imagine where I would be without having gone to Berwick for the past 13 years. The faculty are always, and will always, be there for you with anything you need. Your peers are people who will inspire you and push you to work hard, and most will form life-long friendships. Classes are small, which creates a great learning environment where each student can take part. The Berwick community is one so focused on inclusion and acceptance, everyone is comfortable and can be involved. My only regrets involving this school are the few years I took for granted. Now that I have graduated I don't understand why I didn't cherish this school like I should have every day I stepped onto the campus. Berwick Academy is an incredibly special place.


Posted February 8, 2012

I entered BA as a freshman from a local public school. The difference is vast. A "bad" teacher here is at least average at a public school. Extra help can always be seemed if you are struggling. This school is much better for some students than others. If you are an academically motivated kid who likes small class sizes, this is definitely the right place for you. The only problem(s) happen socially. Since the classes are so small, everyone knows everyones business. The grade is usually socially split between the students who have attended here from the start, and the hockey recruits who normally arrive freshman year. Sports are a big part of the Berwick experience, and varsity athletes are very well liked by the administration and students. But overall, this school has very few flaws and is a great place to send your children.


Posted February 15, 2011

Berwick Academy is an excellent place for your child to blossom. They have fun, make great friends and the education is spectacular. I have been attending for 3 years now and I love it! GO BULLDOGS :) -Class of 2017


Posted February 14, 2011

Our child is in the Lower school in their second year loving it. From the moment we toured the campus, to all the teachers, staff, headmaster, principal we have been delighted with the care and sincerity we have found across the board. Even if the campus were only half as great as it is, (the facilities rival some college campuses), it would be a fabulous education and experience. The school is very communicative with parents, Teachers are kind, fun and expect a lot academically and in creating a great learning environment. Athletics are fantastic, equal billing for both girls and boys sports. There are lots of extracurricular programs starting at an early age, like private music lessons, dance or movement class. In the Lower school literacy, math, history, science, art, gym, computer, music and French class are the norm starting in kindergarten. You have the greatest sense that your child is very well cared for. My child has learned so much and looks forward to every day, not something we saw when attending previous schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2011

Berwick Academy sadly had declined because of its insular focus. It is dominated by a Dean who is more interested in his own power trip and process than about the students. Check the stats. There is a big dip in the number of students who start high school and the number who finish. Cliches, poor administration and little support for what is really important - the kids. Favortism abounds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2011

Run, don't walk away from Berwick! The school is a disaster. The schools that are advertised for college admissions are only ones that a few smart kids get into. Rest got to not that great of schools. It's not worth the money. Administration is petty and self-absorbed. Go anywhere but here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2010

Our child has gone from the Lower and Middle Schools and is entering as a fully prepared Freshman this fall. His public school peers in our hometown are far behind his overall development as a student and as a young adult. Today, his entire grade is off to an overnight orientation campout on a lake in Maine. Extravagant perhaps but, very cool stuff. Contrary to other posters here, our Head of School is open, resourceful and responsive beyond our imaginations. Fair warning, the standards here are strict in this age of mediocrity and tolerance for the lowest common denominator. Consequently, the Berwick administration's approach makes it a safe and drama free atmosphere. The campus and facilities are spectacular and rival any institution in the area. Finally, faculty and staff demand the most from the students and that is the true critical factor that we appreciate as parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

There is no doubt that Berwick works for some students. There are some very fine and caring teachers. It should not surprise anyone that there are some weak and sadly inept teachers as well. Relatively new administration is surprisingly vindictive , petty, and intolerant towards any hint of difference from the 'norm.' Morale is definitely a problem. Do not go here if you tend toward original thought or want your children to turn out in any manner other than white-bread ordinary. Very poor communication with parents in the upper school. Nice buildings. Definitely not worth the money; it survives because it's the only private, non-boarding facility in a region of poor public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2010

Berwick continues to offer an excellent education K through 12 and provides strong college placement for its graduates. Those seniors who leave find themselves well prepared for college academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2010

BA changed my life. I was attending a public school on the way to nowhere and poor grades. I transferred to BA and there I learned the value of hard work and a great education. It really prepared me for college. I had a much easier time dealing with the workload than my fellow classmates in college because of BA. I highly recommend attending if you are given the chance.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 14, 2010

I completely love it here!!!! these people on the site are giving it low ratings. whoever the heck you are, I hate your guts. You haven't even been to the school let alone learn there. It is more than 50 times better thn any privite or public school. They do care about their faculty and their students. The only people they don't care about, are the fat old buttholes who have no life other than to sit at the computer and rate schools based on completley nothing. For pete's sake people.... get a life. This school pushes us and makes us learn from our mistakes. They challenge us and encourage safe risks. Public school fattys on the other hand take the easy side of life and end up in juvey or working minium wage at burger king. We'll be the ones who end up in Harvard. get the picture?!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2009

Don't move here then apply. It is a private school. If they do not like your child you will not be welcomed or treated in a respectful professional manner. Your child must be perfect, even at the age of 6.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2008

I attended Berwick Academy and had an amazing experience. I was more than prepared for college after my years at BA, and the excellent and supportive teachers inspired me to pursue my own teaching career.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 92%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
Hispanic 1% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2012)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • National Merit Scholars (2012)
  • Brown Book Award Winner (2012)
  • Harvard Book Award Winner (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Clubs
  • Special olympics

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Literary magazine
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish Club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Special olympics

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Junior Year Interview Day
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Gregory J. Schneider, Head of School
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (207) 384-3332

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Project-based
  • Reggio Emilia
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Environmental
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Social justice
  • Technology
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Junior Year Interview Day
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Film Club
  • Foreign language club: Spanish Club
  • Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA)
  • Green Alliance
  • Lesbian, gay, transgender club
  • Literary magazine
  • Math club
  • Mock trial competition club
  • Model UN
  • National Honor Society
  • Philosophy Club
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Special olympics
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Berwick Parents Committee
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
More from this school
  • Berwick is a Pre-k-to-12 day school that serves 570 students from 3 states and over 60 communities. We hope you will visit our school community soon. Please do not hesitate to contact the office of admission with any questions: admissions@berwickacademy.org 207.384.6310. We
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$8000 - $30000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Summer college prep programs
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Junior Year Interview Day
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

31 Academy St
South Berwick, ME 03908
Website: Click here
Phone: (207) 384-6300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Central School
South Berwick, ME



Seacoast Christian School
South Berwick, ME





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT