Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
South Portland, ME
Students enrolled: 331

3 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Daniel F. Mahoney Middle School 1

Posted December 04, 2012
- a community member
The teachers for the most part are fine I just don't like the extra unnecessary things that go on in the school.

Daniel F. Mahoney Middle School 1

Posted May 16, 2012
- a parent
I have 2 children attending Mahoney this year, and I am very disappointed in the school. I feel my kids are not receiving a good education for a few reasons - first, thanks to 'no child left behind', the curriculum seems dumbed down - my eighth grader is completely bored because she is not being allowed to do harder work (reason: it would make the other kids feel 'inferior'), and my 12 year old - who needs pushing - is not being challenged. Second, there are major disciplinary problem with students, who disrupt classes and sabotage the learning process for those who want to learn. My daughter told me today that one teacher, tired of the din, now just sits at his desk and ignores the chaos. NOT acceptable! Third, the school seems more interested in their music program than the academics - when the music/band classes have stricter standard, rules, and mandatory attendance for concerts than the English, Math, Science, and Social Studies classes, that's a problem. I've tried to be an involved parent - something the school claims to want - but my comments and complaints have been ignored. With one child now off to high school, we are seeking private middle school for our other.


Daniel F. Mahoney Middle School 3

Posted March 02, 2012
- a community member
This is a decent middle school. The teachers, for the most part, are great. You can tell they really care about giving us an education. A lot of the kids there like to goof off in the middle of class. The school itself is fairly old, and I think it needs a lot of stuff done. Overall, the teachers are great, and the students are okay.

Daniel F. Mahoney Middle School 1

Posted May 14, 2011
- a community member
I hate this school because the teachers are horible and the students are out of control a good population of the students at Mahoney do not try there best get bad grades and cause drama or problems and i think some of the special ed staff that help kids with special needs even tought the rule is to work with ALL students most of them just focause on the special needs students! Lunch is gross the put out moldey grapes !the lunch ladies do not ware hair nets and when a student brings up a problum with the princable they do nothing all of the drama is spread by girls mostly and kids with disabilties get bullied and piicked on for the way the look and act and the things they do i just think that this school neeeds better teachers and better wealchair exsesabilty this school has not been fixed sence the High school the atatorum belcaney seats still say SPHS on the back so as you can see this school in my opinion is nothing but bad trash

Daniel F. Mahoney Middle School 5

Posted February 04, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Daniel F. Mahoney Middle School 0
no rating

Posted October 16, 2009
- a parent
Mahoney has a great community. The teachers and administrators at the school are very accessible and very open. They know all of the kids and the atmosphere is very welcoming at the school. Middle school age is a challenging time for kids and they do a great job helping the kids navigate through those 3 years and get ready for high school.

Daniel F. Mahoney Middle School 0
no rating

Posted October 08, 2009
- a parent
Mahoney is great school where all students are treated equally,and each teacher's priority is to help all students reach their full potential.

Daniel F. Mahoney Middle School 0
no rating

Posted October 07, 2009
- a parent
Mahoney is a great school housed in a fun old building. Great administration ,great teachers and great kids!


Daniel F. Mahoney Middle School 0
no rating

Posted October 07, 2009
- a parent
I love Daniel Mahoney Middle School because the teachers are very nurturing, but also expect excellence from the students. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They are also educated about adolescent behavior, and therefore do not fault the children for being developmentally appropriate.

Daniel F. Mahoney Middle School 0
no rating

Posted October 06, 2009
- a parent
They do alot of communitee work through the reach program they also have a great program at working with kids with learnng disabilities

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Daniel F. Mahoney Middle School
240 Ocean St, South Portland, ME  04106
(207) 799-7386
Last modified Daniel F. Mahoney Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Daniel F. Mahoney Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top