Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Frank I Brown Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 11, 2014

I like brown, but sometimes it's not my favorite part of the day. The school could improve a little bit. For example,my teacher is retiring this year, but still needs to take the training sessions.


Posted August 23, 2013

Brown is a welcoming school in a close knit community. The teachers are giving and reachable and the principal is one of a kind, Mrs. Hawkins knows every child and parent and is available day or night. Field trips are funded by the school PTA, there are enrichment programs and activities that encourage community involvement like the school Fair and Valentine's breakfast. They actively keep parents informed and updated on changes in teaching and learning. We love Brown!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2011

The principal is wonderful and involved in everything that goes on at the school. My son has had three teachers there and they were all WONDERFUL- nurturing, loving, and truly wanted to see their students succeed. My son was slightly behind in reading- they immediately got him into a program with a literacy professional at the school. He can't wait to go to school every day. My youngest will be starting here in a week's time and I am hoping he loves it too. Did I mention that one of the teachers who taught ME at this school (I am 29) is still teaching there?! They have modern equipment as well, from what I have seen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2010

Thus far we have loved Brown School. The Principal is caring and isn t afraid to jump in and help out where ever needed. She knows all of the children by name and my daughter is scared to death of her - which to me is a bonus. The teachers seem willing to challenge the children academically and the counselors try to handle every possible issue before it becomes an issue. My daughter and her friends love school and can t get to school fast enough in the morning. The PTA has several pushy opinionated members, but the rest of the parents seem quite nice and most are very active. One area where I give the highest praise are the schools procedures on getting all the children into the building and making sure that everyone is accounted for. One morning as the children where lined up to go into the building, there was a backpack without out a child attached to it, the place just about went into lock down. The children hadn t even entered the building yet, but everything was stopped until the child was located (he was in the wrong line). This above all else makes me feel my daughter is safe and being watched over while she is away from me
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

The staff are all wonderful, from Mrs. Hawkins the principal to the custodians! Very happy to see my child, always helpful to her and caring of every child. Wonderful PTA and great parent involvement!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

Warm Friendly people, Very Inviting School The children love it here. You can just tell from their faces!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

This is the epitomy of a neighborhood school with parent interaction to make every child feel comfortable being at and going to school. There is such interaction and a very strict 'no bully' policy that is overseen by teachers, parents, and students alike. The PTA is very involved and, because of this, there are great opportunities for all. I am very proud to be a parent of a student at Brown.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

They have the best teachers!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2009

You will never find another school quite like Brown; there is such a great mix of greatness there! great teachers, great kids, great parents, great community, we have been blessed with Brown School as my childrens starting point to education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2008

This is a closely knit community within a city. The teachers and staff are highly accredited and truly care about the students. It is a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 45% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 70% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the Maine Educational Assessment (MEA) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MEA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 92%
Black 8% 3%
Hispanic 5% 2%
Two or more races 5% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 2%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

37 Highland Ave
South Portland, ME 04106
Phone: (207) 799-5196

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Holy Cross School
South Portland, ME


Spurwink School--S Portland
South Portland, ME




Aucocisco School
Cape Elizabeth, ME



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT