Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
163 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Holy Cross School 5

Posted March 19, 2010
- a parent
Excellent academics and a very wholesome environment for the kids. Great school!

Holy Cross School 5

Posted February 20, 2010
- a parent
My daughter has been at Holy Cross now for two years. We have been so pleased with the changes and our new Principal, Sister Theresa. She has brought the school together. It is worth the material (financial) sacrafices my family is making. She is well loved, learning and most of all flourishing in the environment.


Holy Cross School
no rating

Posted December 06, 2008
- a student
Im attending holy cross right now and im in middle school and a have been there since pre-school and will never leave!!! Its a great school.

Holy Cross School 5

Posted February 28, 2008
- a parent
We have a daughter who now attends Holy Cross since her former school, St. Pats closed. We are so impressed with Holy Cross. This is a great school. She loves it,the kids are intelligent and friendly as are the teachers. Deacon Steve is a superb leader.

Holy Cross School 5

Posted January 31, 2007
- a student
I am actually a previous student to Holy Cross and I have nothing but good things to say about it. The staff was wonderful and all my class mates were excited to learn because our teachers made it fun. That is the best school you could send your child to. Take it from an student who really knows. Even if your child needs help on a certain subject, the teachers are by their side ready to help.


Holy Cross School 5

Posted September 07, 2006
- a student
In my opinion holy cross school is perhaps one of the finest and most rewarding schools for youth in maine. (a former students perspective)

Holy Cross School 5

Posted April 01, 2006
- a parent
I have have 3 children at Holy Cross in 3rd, 5th & 7th grade. My oldest started in 3rd grade. The academics are excellent - especially the literacy side. They use an excellent vocab book series starting in 3rd grade. The new math teacher (6th - 8th grade) is very good stressing math skills, paper and pencil. They offer music, art, computer, Spanish and gym. Sports are limited due to the facility though they work with the So. Portland Rec dept. to fill in gaps. The teachers are wonderfully caring and the principal is amazing with 30yrs. Public Education experience (17 as principal of a K-2) and then he became a Deacon. We've worked with him more than once when my oldest had problems with classmates and we and my daughter trust him to help work through the situation and my daughter will go to him directly now for help.

Holy Cross School 5

Posted May 29, 2005
- a student
im not acctually a parent of a student at this school, im a sister of a student and a former student of this school. this school is great- not just because its my school but because everyone is so friendly. every student who is enrolled in this school has a personal relationship with the principal, deacon steve, and their teachers. if someone has a problem deacon steve will put aside what he needs to do and have a private meeting with that student or group of students. with personal experiance i know that this is a challenging school and that it is academically challenging school. Teachers are willing to give up their mornings and afternoons to help students if they need help with their studys. i have learned so much from my 2 years at holy cross. this is a great school in a tight-knit community it is a wonderful school.


Holy Cross School 5

Posted April 03, 2005
- a parent
This is a fantastic, small, community-based school in which every child is known by name, not number. The parents we have met here are 'just like us'. They value the same things that we do and show an interest in the education and spiritual growth of all the children.

Holy Cross School 4

Posted September 15, 2004
- a parent
Fantasic school. It is a learning community.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Holy Cross School
436 Broadway, South Portland, ME  04106
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. (207) 799-6661
Last modified Holy Cross School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top