Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Topsham, ME
Students enrolled: 617
 

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mt Ararat Middle School 5

Posted January 11, 2011
- a community member
I love this school! great people work her and great kids go to school here. i would go here over and over if i could!

Mt Ararat Middle School 5

Posted April 05, 2010
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Mt Ararat Middle School 1

Posted November 16, 2008
- a teacher
I would never let my child go to this school. I am a former teacher for this school and really feel bad for any child that goes to this school. I only stayed one year and left for a school that was safer.

Mt Ararat Middle School 5

Posted September 27, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Mt Ararat Middle School 1

Posted March 30, 2008
- a student
Heres the down low on Mt.Ararat ... *Kids will be placed in 'cliques'. *Have friendships ripped apart.* Expierience drama (To the max...). *Most will begin swearing, or saying cruel or harsh frases (Wether you see this or not... it's happening) *Teachers use favoratism. *Curiculum... Not that great... *Homework... overwhelming... *And most importantly it is setting them on the track to go to the high school... about 3/4 of the kids are on drugs, and during sports season about half... They will most likely get picked on, bullied, peer pressured ect... This is the point of view of a real student... Parents don't ever know the whole story, and teachers always dress it up... but every mt.ararat student in at least 7th grade and 8th grade... know the truth! (p.s there has been a higher drug and alchohol use in the 8th grade, then mthe years befor (Smoking in the bathroom, beer in lockers ect...) and thats just the middle


Mt Ararat Middle School 5

Posted May 30, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Mt Ararat Middle School 2

Posted August 31, 2006
- a parent
Like several parents we know, we'd send our kids to Waynflete if we could afford it. Here at public school, we're all forced to comply with the system. The poor teachers earn the same as the great ones. How is this fair to anyone? Imagine 'attracting' your business(the kids)and if you couldn't do it, you'd be out. My child had one super teacher here. Some I wouldn't choose to hire. Kids learn quickly if they're allowed to teach. What about having the teachers spend at least 1 day on the other side of the room. It might help some remember how uncomfortable the chairs are, how quickly one can be made to feel stupid, how boring it often is. Organized sports? What about more attention to realistic futures? How about more good old fashion walks on nice days?

Mt Ararat Middle School 3

Posted November 04, 2005
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Mt Ararat Middle School 1

Posted January 09, 2005
- a parent
Leadership could use improvement. Working with parents when a child gets in trouble is no longer used. This makes parents angry and put's undo stress on family life. Education should alway's be given to a child no matter what circumstances arrive. No child should be left behind but this school district does.

Mt Ararat Middle School 5

Posted August 21, 2004
- a parent
My son goes there and we like the school very much. It is a great facility with a fantastic faculty and staff. I do however have a problem with the way band program is organized. While the instructor is wonderful, band has no assigned class time and a band participant is obligated to miss classes (including exams) and various other activities to attend practices and lessons. It is treated as if it as an academic endeavor with grades but for some reason is not worthy of a defined class period. My son (an honor student) is probably dropping band this year the avoid the weekly stress having to make-up assignments missed during band periods.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mt Ararat Middle School
66 Republic Ave, Topsham, ME  04086
(207) 729-2950
Last modified Mt Ararat Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mt Ararat Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top