Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mt Ararat High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 7, 2010

Caring and exceptional faculty and a great selection of courses that challenge everyone at their own level. The staff at MTA truly believes that every student can learn and will go out of their way to encourage and support them. Wonderful school. Great opportunities for ALL students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2009

I am a parent who has a healthy (I think) very scepticism about school administration,, but the principal, Dr King, has overcome my religion by consistently appearing at every (and I mean every) athletic, dramatic, musical, etc, etc event that Mt Ararat hosts. He knows virtually every student by name. He is open to parental support or criticism. The teachers throughout grads 1-12 are true professionals who know what it means to educate. 95% are dedicated and caring and take any amount of time to help in every possible way. These are words I never would have said 20 years ago,but even a cynic like myself can see he results
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2009

Dedicated teachers, parents, and other staff make Mt. Ararat seem less like a school and more like family. I am a senior this year and Mt. Ararat has allowed me to mature, learn and become a better person. The teachers will do anything for students and, in turn, get the most out of them academically and personally. The Principal is involved and attends just about every sporting event we have, even taking up his personal time on weekends. We have great clubs, activities, and sports and our test scores are high. Teachers are lined up to come to MTA, but can you blame them?
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 22, 2008

As the parent of a senior and a sophomore, and an educator myself for almost thirty years, I can honestly say that MTA is an excellent place for kids to learn, mature and prepare for their years after high school. The educators and support staff are totally devoted to their students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2008

Bad Teachers, fake walls, and little money. This school is bad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2008

As a 2008 gradutate of Mt. Ararat I would like to say that it was a wonderful educational experience. I could not have asked for more outstanding teachers or a better education, one that has led me abroad for the year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 23, 2008

I'm going to be a sophomore this year, and although the school may be walless don't let it scare you, the first day is a breeze, you get a map and there are PALS everywhere We acutlaly have one of the best educational schools in the state, just not in the best of shape, but theres a new one coming in '11
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 17, 2008

I think it is a okay school. It can use an update.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2008

Mt. Ararat is an ok school, it has some great extracurriclar activites, but it lacks in the sanitary department.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 28, 2005

I went to mt.ararat high school and am graduating this year. MT. ararat is a great school, and there are so many opportunities and things for your child to get involved with. the kids there are pretty freindly for the most part and there is always something new and exciting going on, and it's just a great school to go to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 2, 2004

I graduated from Mount Ararat in 2002. The rules there were very strict and at the time they seemed rediculous, but now that I look back it was probably best that way because it made the school safer. I guess it was fun there, you'll eventually bond with your teachers and most of them are very nice. The principal was very mean, mostly to freshman because he wanted them to be afraid so they'd stay out of trouble. I enjoyed my time there, I also recommend joining JMG. Job's for Maine's Graduates with Mr. Irish. You will learn so much. I definitly recommend looking into that. I hope you like it here, good luck!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 4, 2004

I'm not a parent from Mt. Ararat High School, i'm an about-to-be-freshmen actually. When my grade went to the high school for one full day ('step-up' day) it was both an interesting and scary experience. I accidentally bumped into an older high schooler, and got pushed into the wall by him. That was the scary part, including finding your way around the school. But a good part about Mt. Ararat high School was, how friendly the teachers were and how some of the high schoolers there were also nice. But, mind you that, it is a terribly difficult school to find your way around.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Critical Reading

The state average for Critical Reading was 49% in 2013.

204 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

205 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
50%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2013.

208 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
48%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 43% in 2013.

205 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the Maine High School Assessment (MHSA) to test students in grade 11 in critical reading, math, writing and science. The results reported show how well students are mastering state standards, specific skills defined by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 92%
Hispanic 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Black 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

73 Eagles Way
Topsham, ME 04086
Phone: (207) 729-2951

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Brunswick High School
Brunswick, ME


Compass Point Academy
Brunswick, ME


Lisbon High School
Lisbon Falls, ME




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT